Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Mini/Micro/HD-BNC - Why the change? And no adapters?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181

    Mini/Micro/HD-BNC - Why the change? And no adapters?

    Took delivery of our 2 new TC1s and I/O unit this week. Loving the TC1 units... FINALLY SSD BOOTING! IT'S A MIRACLE!!!!

    The I/O unit has a LOT of potential, somewhat hamstrung by it having to be in one physical location. Maybe the next generation of I/O modules can be one in, one out portable units that cost $99

    Anyway, I haven't been able to play with the I/O unit, for the simple reason that it has tiny BNC jacks on the back. I know there's way too many tiny-BNC standards, like micro and mini and HD, but I have no idea what this one is. I have a "Mini BNC" pigtail I got about a year ago, and it looks like it should fit, but it doesn't. Frustrating.

    NewTek can't throw in 8 pigtail adapters to make this unit truly plug-and-play? Or maybe make a bigger deal about the change, rather than burying it on the tech specs page: https://www.newtek.com/connect/nc1-io/tech-specs/

    Can't wait to further review this thing once it's actually up and running in my workflow!
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  2. #2
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Hmmm. According to the specs, looks like the card connectors are "DIN 1.0/2.3" ... whatever that is.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181
    Yep, it is misleading and incorrect to even refer to them as any type of "BNC" anymore. The fact there's no adapters in the box is ridiculous.
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  4. #4
    I purchased and am using these adapters to use on my NC1 IO demo, the port is called a Mini-DIN, but many people call them Mini-BNC. https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...LE_to_DIN.html
    Last edited by kanep; 05-24-2017 at 01:02 PM.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181
    Oh good, another $112 to get up and running...

    NewTek really should not refer to them as BNC in their marketing/support material. That stands for barrel nut connector... which these are not.

    Or, you know, shipped some adapters to avoid the problem altogether.
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    522
    BTW, the "BNC" in the connector is, supposedly, in reference to the developers:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BNC_connector

    And, in fact, according to this article, was originally a patented design!

    Fritz Golman
    Museum of Broadcast Communications

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181
    Huh, today I learned.

    Whatever the name is, I still can't use my I/O unit
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    173
    +1 that the these cables should be included in the box!


    I always liked that Newtek includes keyboards, mouse etc.
    And after all our purchases I have feeled 20 of these from Newtek at home
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	31g5LJVqw5L._SX425_.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	8.1 KB 
ID:	142482

    Then why not to be generous and add a bunch of little but essential cables? ;-)

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    108
    Yes, this really made me smile and even laugh: in the box of our TC1, IP based, NDI, ... IP all the way, they included a BNC 'trumpet' (we call it that over here in Belgium). You don't even get that with pure SDI baseband video hardware which costs multitudes of what a TC1 costs.

    Nice! In all kinds of ways!

    Quote Originally Posted by matthias-web View Post
    +1 that the these cables should be included in the box!


    I always liked that Newtek includes keyboards, mouse etc.
    And after all our purchases I have feeled 20 of these from Newtek at home
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	31g5LJVqw5L._SX425_.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	8.1 KB 
ID:	142482

    Then why not to be generous and add a bunch of little but essential cables? ;-)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •