Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: MS17-010 / SMBv1 / WannaCry exploit?

  1. #1
    Twitch.tv/SCGTour
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    41

    Question MS17-010 / SMBv1 / WannaCry exploit?

    Hi all,

    I was just curious if anyone had looked into whether TriCasters were potentially vulnerable to the MS17-010 / SMBv1 / WannaCry exploit?

    Thanks,
    MagicShoebox

  2. #2
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,455
    I'm applying Windows updates to my Windows 7 system as I type this. Windows 10 systems probably do so automatically, so should be ok as far as I am aware.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  3. #3
    Twitch.tv/SCGTour
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    I'm applying Windows updates to my Windows 7 system as I type this. Windows 10 systems probably do so automatically, so should be ok as far as I am aware.
    I wasn't sure if I should apply Windows Updates to TriCasters, so I just disabled SMBv1. Hopefully that doesn't break anything. (I'm still on old machines that are on Windows 7. Do newer TriCasters run on top of newer Windows?)

  4. #4
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,455
    TC1 runs on Windows 10, and some other systems (like Talkshow) will be running 8 or 10. I'm told it's safe to install the relevant Windows updates on 7 and up, but I'm not really certain about Vista right at this moment ... looking into it.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  5. #5
    Twitch.tv/SCGTour
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    TC1 runs on Windows 10, and some other systems (like Talkshow) will be running 8 or 10. I'm told it's safe to install the relevant Windows updates on 7 and up, but I'm not really certain about Vista right at this moment ... looking into it.
    Cool, thanks for the prompt reply!

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    MRS
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    TC1 runs on Windows 10, and some other systems (like Talkshow) will be running 8 or 10. I'm told it's safe to install the relevant Windows updates on 7 and up, but I'm not really certain about Vista right at this moment ... looking into it.
    It seems, that the Microsoft patch can only be applied to Vista SP2 but our TC 300 is running on SP1...

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,455
    Living as we do in times when threats are more prolific, many may feel that staying up to date is more critical than in earlier times, and indeed some work in environments where doing so is mandatory. Certainly after all this time there will be many TriCaster users who went ahead and installed SP2 long since, and were there any serious issues we'd likely have heard about it long since. And, in the unlikely case of a problem, one could revert. All of this being said, then, the view here is that it is probably just fine to update a system running Vista to SP2, and any subsequent patches.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    108
    Just want to make sure I read this thread correctly. It's ok to apply Windows updates to our 460 SE? My understanding was always not to update anything as it was a closed system. Pretty sure 460 is running Win7.

    Thanks,
    Philip Hinkle
    State Bar of Wisconsin

    TriCaster 460 and Certified Operator
    JVC GY-HM750 2-4 cams

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,455
    You can consider this an updated official recommendation.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  10. #10
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,720
    Here is the official Knowledge Base article https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/.../115007401048/.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    3

    Confused about wannacry and Windows Update.

    Quote Originally Posted by Zane Condren View Post
    Here is the official Knowledge Base article https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/.../115007401048/.
    I need clarification on 2 update questions:

    1. My tricaster 8000 shows it is 94 updates behind on windows update. Is it safe to update it?

    2. If I am only to follow the link, The download site I am getting for the hot fix is coming up in Russian language. It does not look like a Microsoft site, so I am hesitant to even download it.

  12. #12
    VT[2] Aficionado
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    188
    Quote Originally Posted by smashwolf View Post
    I need clarification on 2 update questions:

    1. My tricaster 8000 shows it is 94 updates behind on windows update. Is it safe to update it?

    2. If I am only to follow the link, The download site I am getting for the hot fix is coming up in Russian language. It does not look like a Microsoft site, so I am hesitant to even download it.
    Unofficially, you should just install all of the security fixes Windows Update offers you if your TriCaster is on a network. Closed system or not, it's Windows, and it's open to to every single vulnerability Windows Update wants to patch. You can always uninstall troublesome patches if necessary. I've had no trouble with my TriCaster 40.

    Which link are you talking about? This one to the MIcrosoft Update Catalog? I'm not having any trouble loading that page, though I wish the NewTek knowledge base linked to the HTTPS version.

  13. #13
    From Browser To Broadcast jmmultex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Trenton, NJ
    Posts
    461
    One thought before applying any Windows updates: I would create a backup image of the system disk - with all of your latest TriCaster updates - to make restoring it easier in the event anything goes wrong. The TriCaster has a built in utility to do this and it could save you a bit of time if things go south.

    Just a thought...

    John
    John Mahoney
    GNURAL NET, Inc.
    Trenton, NJ 08691

    [email protected]
    http://www.gnuralnet.com

    Gear:
    Gnural Net LiveToAir, TC1, TC1LP, MDS1, TC8000, Cameras: NDIHX-PTZ1, PTZ Optics ZCAM 20x

  14. #14
    VT[2] Aficionado
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    188
    Quote Originally Posted by jmmultex View Post
    One thought before applying any Windows updates: I would create a backup image of the system disk - with all of your latest TriCaster updates - to make restoring it easier in the event anything goes wrong. The TriCaster has a built in utility to do this and it could save you a bit of time if things go south.

    Just a thought...

    John
    That would definitely save time over trying to pinpoint which update to uninstall, yes. If you don't have an external disk as big as your TriCaster's internal disk, you could save some time/space by just making an image of the Windows boot volume. I used GNOME Disks from a Fedora boot disk last time I needed to do this - worked nicely and is free.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1
    Hi,

    Just reposting this information here, in case someone needs it:

    So now there is a possibility to unlock files encrypted by WannaCry ransomware using a free decryption program

    • blog.malwarebytes.com/cybercrime/2017/05/wannadecrypt-your-files
    • thehackernews.com/2017/05/wannacry-ransomware-decryption-tool.html
    • malwareless.com/free-wannacry-ransomware-decryption-tool-unlock-files-without-paying-ransom



    The decryptor is only going to work if you haven't killed the ransomware process (should be wnry.exe or or wcry.exe) in Task Manager.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •