Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 41

Thread: Rendering multiple cameras in one scene file

  1. #16
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    Might have a look at this.
    That would be amazing!

    Let me know if you need any enticement (beer - or more than beer - money!)
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  2. #17
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,855
    One idea I had is - is there any way to add a simple script/plugin to cameras that literally just holds start frame and end frame values (set manually by the user - though it'd be awesome to have an auto-range-detect function)? Then once you had that script on all the cameras you wanted to render out from, you could run a master script that looks for the presence of the plugin/script attached to cameras, and uses it to generate the correctly in'n'out-point-set LWS files
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  3. #18
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Quote Originally Posted by dsol View Post
    One idea I had is - is there any way to add a simple script/plugin to cameras that literally just holds start frame and end frame values (set manually by the user - though it'd be awesome to have an auto-range-detect function)? Then once you had that script on all the cameras you wanted to render out from, you could run a master script that looks for the presence of the plugin/script attached to cameras, and uses it to generate the correctly in'n'out-point-set LWS files
    Already had this in mind.

    If you have a scene with multiple cameras in them, there is no place to set start / end frames per camera, so my thought was a Master script that presents a list of all cameras in the scene, there you'd set the start / end frames for each one.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  4. #19
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,901
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    If you have a scene with multiple cameras in them, there is no place to set start / end frames per camera, so my thought was a Master script that presents a list of all cameras in the scene, there you'd set the start / end frames for each one.
    Are you familiar with Camera Switcher? There are two such plugins already in LW...

    You're just talking about how to tell master plugin which camera should be rendering which frame..

  5. #20
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Are you familiar with Camera Switcher? There are two such plugins already in LW...

    You're just talking about how to tell master plugin which camera should be rendering which frame..
    I am, that script switches to user specified cameras at certain keys as it goes along the timeline - start to end.

    What I believe Dan wants is to have multiple cameras with different start / end ranges that could be something like:

    Camera 1 @ Frame 1 - 10
    Camera 2 @ Frame 1 - 30
    Camera 3 @ Frame 1 - 15

    Etc.

    Even maybe:


    Camera 1 @ Frame 20 - 50
    Camera 2 @ Frame 1 - 45
    Camera 3 @ Frame 128 - 256

    Etc.


    Then save with the output frames set to:

    scene_name-camera_name_frame_number.png

    So Camera Switcher won't even do the switching right.

    Unless of course I'm reading his request entirely wrong.
    Last edited by Matt; 03-21-2017 at 08:21 PM.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  6. #21
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Quote Originally Posted by dsol View Post
    One idea I had is - is there any way to add a simple script/plugin to cameras that literally just holds start frame and end frame values (set manually by the user - though it'd be awesome to have an auto-range-detect function)? Then once you had that script on all the cameras you wanted to render out from, you could run a master script that looks for the presence of the plugin/script attached to cameras, and uses it to generate the correctly in'n'out-point-set LWS files
    You know one other way your could do this that might be simpler.

    Put the start / end ranges in the camera name:

    Camera_Name-1-30

    Then, rather than create a whole GUI to manage the start / end frames for each camera. Have a scene export script that loops through all the cameras, extracts the start / end frames and sets up a scene for each camera with the start / end set and the output string changed.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  7. #22
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    Already had this in mind.

    If you have a scene with multiple cameras in them, there is no place to set start / end frames per camera, so my thought was a Master script that presents a list of all cameras in the scene, there you'd set the start / end frames for each one.
    That would be perfect. Would you be able to save frame ranges if it was a script though? Be a bit of a pain to re-type them all out every time you want to re-export all the LWS's.
    Thanks again for looking into this. If something like this works, it will literally save me - and others - hours of dull (and human-error-prone) work over the course of a project.
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  8. #23
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,134
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    You know one other way your could do this that might be simpler.

    Put the start / end ranges in the camera name:

    Camera_Name-1-30
    That's pretty much what I do at the moment. Create a master scene file, call each camera Cam_1-40, Cam_10-60 etc and then copy/paste that camera name into the Output filename box, so all the renders end up in the same folder and I sort them afterwards. If the script could also create a sub-folder for each of the cameras, with the camera name, so that each iteration of the scene saves to the appropriately named sub-folder then that would be golden
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  9. #24
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    You know one other way your could do this that might be simpler.

    Put the start / end ranges in the camera name:

    Camera_Name-1-30

    Then, rather than create a whole GUI to manage the start / end frames for each camera. Have a scene export script that loops through all the cameras, extracts the start / end frames and sets up a scene for each camera with the start / end set and the output string changed.
    That's a great way to do it. Maybe put a unique escape sequence of characters, like CXIN and CXOUT, before the in and out numbers so it doesn't get mis-parsed.
    And it has the added bonus that Cameras that don't have the unique identifier in their names don't get used. Cool!
    Last edited by dsol; 03-22-2017 at 02:58 PM.
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  10. #25
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Okay, I have this working.

    Let me double check it first.

    I ended up making it look at the cameras first and last keys for the render range, that way you don't have to manage anything in some GUI.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  11. #26
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Absolute LEGEND!
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  12. #27
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Give this a shot, if you want to change the scene file name / save location for the renders etc. Change this line:

    Code:
    new_scene_name = scene_filename_split[3] + "-" + camera_names[s] + " (" + camera_first_key[s] + " - " + camera_last_key[s] + ")";
    Let me know if you find any bugs / need something changing.

    Cheers
    Matt

    Export_Cameras_To_Scene.zip

    Export_Cameras_To_Scene_Files_Video.mov
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  13. #28
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,855
    I'll test this out first thing tomorrow morning. I'll have a look at the code too, be interesting to learn more about scripting in Lightwave (and I really should learn Python anyway!)

    Thank you so much for doing this. I love this community - and I love Lightwave!
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  14. #29
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Yeah I need to start doing stuff in Python vs LScript myself!
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  15. #30
    Don't forget to add this to the plugin database!
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •