Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Texture flickering

  1. #1

    Texture flickering

    H

    All the threads I found while googling are too old so I would like to know how you'd deal with this problem with the new AA system (well, the 11.6.3 system, the license I own):

    I have a texture of little cartoon flowers over a ground. When I move the camera the most of those flowers flick even disappearing and appearing again specially if the camera is less perpendicular in relation to the normals. I'm using the settings you can see in the image.

    Any idea?

    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	camera.PNG 
Views:	83 
Size:	12.0 KB 
ID:	136177  

  2. #2
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,142
    Do you have a couple of shots, or even a short clip, so we can see the effect ourselves? It could be anything from geometry, to ray tracing errors, to your settings above. A sample would help a lot
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    374
    Yes...also it depends from your GI setting...
    Usually the flickering is caused by the GI...you need to save the cache.

  4. #4
    If you are not using GI, does the flickering go away if you disable adaptive sampling ? that will at least eliminate one cause.
    LightWave 2015.3 - Fantasy web comic: http://rustandmagic.se https://www.facebook.com/rustandmagic57/
    "I may not change the world but I'm gonna leave a scar" (Charlie Starr - Blackberry Smoke)

  5. #5
    Thanks. I'm playing with the cache but not luck ... I'll keep trying and reading Except radiosity guide

    Below an example of the problem. As you'll see some of the flowers flicker all the time
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Probably not an elegant solution, but applying an alpha using incidence angle avoid that ugly effect. Thanks for your help

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    374
    Quote Originally Posted by vector View Post
    Thanks. I'm playing with the cache but not luck ... I'll keep trying and reading Except radiosity guide

    Below an example of the problem. As you'll see some of the flowers flicker all the time
    Very strange...for to use the cache in right way you have to do:
    - choose the path where you want save the cache (of course)
    - Frame steps, it depends, but you put 5 or less as 2
    - keep "Automatic" and Bake Radiosity scene
    - when it finish, choose "Locked" and save the scene...
    - Render the scene

  8. #8
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,142
    Looking at the animation, are you sure the flowers are raised off the ground plane? Because to me it looks like they're on the same plane, which will cause flickering like that. Maybe try raising them slightly.
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  9. #9
    Kopperdrak-> The flowers are texture, not geometry.
    Niko3D-> I tried caching using different values but not luck

    Thanks anyway. Maybe due to flat angles those flowers flicker, so I decided avoid it using the alpha with an incidence angle

  10. #10
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,142
    Weird - do they flicker when you're not using GI?
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    574
    Vector, can you make one test? can you raise everything 1m? With other soft sometimes on objects at 0,0,0 I've found precission issues and atifacts.
    English is not my native language so please be patient.

    Salvador Ureņa
    http://urenasalvador.wixsite.com/portfolio

  12. #12
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,944
    Quote Originally Posted by vector View Post
    Texture flickering

    Any idea?
    Double resolution, and then rescale down in Photoshop. It almost always work. Quick and easy solution.


    Flickering also could be result of exceeding RGB 1,1,1...
    There is option "Limit Dynamic Range" in Render Globals, worth to try.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •