Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Polys with less than 2 vertices?.

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    383

    Polys with less than 2 vertices?.

    Hi all.
    Another question.
    Had the following in a reply today----

    "make sure you don't have polys with less than 2 vertices"

    How do i check an object to see if it has less than 2 vertices?.

    The particular type of objects that ive been asked to checkout
    is any text object i use. Does not matter if the text is a name title or sentence.
    Also im advised that any text object must be triangulated.
    Which can result in relatively few extra polygons or have a substantial amount of extra polygons depending on the font style used.

    Possible it maybe only the fonts that have a lot of extra polygons that may also have "polys with less than 2 vertices"
    But not shore about this.

    Thanks for any advice.

    Ps.
    Rushed my question onto the forum before i shut down my computer.
    Will check for any responses first thing in the morning.

  2. #2
    Scene Destroyer DrStrik9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,684
    Statistics in Modeler. (Point, Edge, Poly) - (w-key, space bar to switch between modes, +/- to selects/deselect)

  3. #3
    Statistics panel (w shortcut key) in polygon mode will break down your polygons by the number of vertices they are made up with. Under the category 1 vertex, if it lists any under the number column other than 0, use the + key on the far left to select them, and hit delete.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    383
    Thank every one for info.
    You have made it easier to understand and use the statistics panel.

    Also checked the link provided by erikals.
    Looks like a utility worth downloading.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    383
    Quote Originally Posted by cove View Post
    Thank every one for info.
    You have made it easier to understand and use the statistics panel.

    Also checked the link provided by erikals.
    Looks like a utility worth downloading.
    Quick update.
    Have now downloaded and installed plugin.

  7. #7



    yep, 1 and 2 point polys often gets left behind in LW Modeler.
    we've asked the NT team to create a solution for this, but so far Modeler ain't getting much LØve...

    i believe it will be dealt with eventually, possibly by a global function.



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1pp-2pp.png 
Views:	160 
Size:	17.2 KB 
ID:	136045
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    383
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post


    yep, 1 and 2 point polys often gets left behind in LW Modeler.
    we've asked the NT team to create a solution for this, but so far Modeler ain't getting much LØve...

    i believe it will be dealt with eventually, possibly by a global function.



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1pp-2pp.png 
Views:	160 
Size:	17.2 KB 
ID:	136045

    Hi again.
    Now that i have and need the right utility to check objects out for faults i can appreciate the need for a dedicated function in LW and coveniently placed were you have indicated.

    Although "NEXT" Layout is the main focus of development and given that Modeler has had no updates at all for a very long time i would not be supprised if modeler has had many fixes and function improvements.


    Have a query about the plugin you provided a link to.

    Ive tested it on a couple of text objects [Just trying it out].

    After clicking the ok button there is no indication that it is doing anything.
    Is it the case that it only shows a message panel if it has
    actually found/corrected something.

    Also when and why would you increase the Threshold from default 0m to
    something else.
    Is it anything to do with changing the threshold number to match the scale of any particular object.

    Thanks again for any added comments.

  9. #9

    hi,
    once you hit 'ok' it removes all 1pp and 2pp etc...

    Also when and why would you increase the Threshold from default 0m to something else.
    the threshold will delete all 2pp if it reaches 'this' value.
    unfortunately(?) it won't keep the keep the 2pp lower/higher than this value, it's an all or nothing value.
    (according to my tests)  :]
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,450
    Hmm, I usually only press 'w', select the 1 & 2s and delete them. But I suppose a quick button is nice too

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    383
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    hi,
    once you hit 'ok' it removes all 1pp and 2pp etc...


    the threshold will delete all 2pp if it reaches 'this' value.
    unfortunately(?) it won't keep the keep the 2pp lower/higher than this value, it's an all or nothing value.
    (according to my tests)  :]
    Thanks for explanation follow what you have said.

    Incidently may start another thread promted by the image you posted in a previous reply.
    Not shore if i will get write up done this evening or post tomorrow.

  12. #12

    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelT View Post
    Hmm, I usually only press 'w', select the 1 & 2s and delete them. But I suppose a quick button is nice too
    yes, many tools should also have a global option "delete 1pp/2pp" by default
    -merge
    -weld
    and possibly other tools

    Not shore if i will get write up done this evening or post tomorrow.
    cool, be sure to post a link.  
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    383

    Glad to

    Link also in my thread. titled "Suddenly Layout opened up!!."

  14. #14

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    383

    That was fast !!!!!.

    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    How the hell did you get a link to my thread up so quick!!!.
    After i posted my thread i more or less came straight back to this thread and there it was.
    What you on!! What ever it is let "Next" dev team know we may get "Next" a lot sooner.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •