Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 44

Thread: SpeedEDIT - WOW!

  1. #1
    NewTek Managment pnelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    726

    SpeedEDIT - WOW!

    I dusted off SpeedEDIT this week on my office desktop and was once again blown away by how fast you can edit in SE!

    It truly is the world fastest video editor the easiest editing workflow I have ever used
    Philip Nelson
    NewTek
    CRO - Chief Relationship Officer
    [email protected]
    http://www.newtek.com

    Follow NewTek on Twitter!
    @PhilipNelson

    Following on Facebook
    /Philip.Nelson

  2. #2
    I agree with you. I've used Sony (now Magix) Vegas and Resolve but prefer to use SE for the very reasons you list. Is there any way you can get NewTek to do the right thing to upgrade and support SE? We all need it.

  3. #3
    Just Tryin' To Help...
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Quincy, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,066
    Quote Originally Posted by dweinkauf View Post
    Is there any way you can get NewTek to do the right thing to upgrade and support SE? We all need it.
    For what it's worth, I totally agree Philip, we need SE upgraded!
    SB Enterprises, Quincy, Illinois ~ in the backwoods of the US of A

  4. #4
    Since NewTek owns Aura, why not combine Aura with SE for a really great editing, animation and graphics program!

  5. #5
    Lynn Cress lcress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Free State
    Posts
    299
    Philip, You know you're preaching to the choir here. Need to convince the powers that be.

  6. #6
    I would be one happy camper to continue to be able to use speededit!

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Lenzkirch
    Posts
    114
    I used SE and Aura on the toaster NT, haven't seen anything better till this day. At some point someone stole my Toaster Board, so I could no longer use these Programs..... They would make fine editing tools... Maybe integrate them with LW?

  8. #8
    There are few issues of SpeedEdit need a good upgrade:
    1. When a project become big (say about over 500 cuts), SpeedEdit's undo/redo system become very sllow due to project file is huge for every movement to save into undo-redo directory.
    2. The same thing happen when loading a huge project (just few mega byte project file with few hundred cuts), too slow to load project, especially with icon view in storyboard mode.
    3. We need a 64 bit version of SpeedEdit. I am suffering with low memory issues of current SpeedEdit version. A normal editing project might need 1-2 GB ram. When it come to rendering, an extra 1-2GB required. If I try multiple rendering, SE just sit there and die.
    4. New camera format support.
    =============
    Chen Pan

    [email protected]
    =============

  9. #9
    Registered User donx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    404
    Chen:
    There have been people asking about multi-cam editing in SpeedEdit. Are you still selling your multi-cam editing plug-in?
    I have been using the one I bought and find it very useful.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by donx View Post
    Chen:
    There have been people asking about multi-cam editing in SpeedEdit. Are you still selling your multi-cam editing plug-in?
    I have been using the one I bought and find it very useful.
    Hi donx.

    Yes, I can sell it anytime. However, due to no update (include SDK) on SpeedEdit for a long time, MultiCam have not much improved for a long while.

    If anyone need a MultiCam for SpeedEdit, please email me at [email protected].
    =============
    Chen Pan

    [email protected]
    =============

  11. #11
    Registered User tonyvdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    234
    What does MultiCam do if I may ask?
    SpeedEdit2
    Dell XPS8300 i7 core AMD6700 graphics 12gb ram
    LG BluRay burrner
    Amiga 4000D VT Flyer in tower
    JVC Digital S BR-D85U
    Sony EVO9850, Panasonic AG7150

  12. #12

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by tonyvdb View Post
    What does MultiCam do if I may ask?
    MultiCam is an UI for SpeedEdit with multiple tracks (Cameras) editing. You can laid down synced tracks of Video in SpeedEdit and choose/edit which track will be next to show with single Mouse click or Keypad shortcut. Here are some highlight of the MultiCam:
    lay videos into any tracks (err..., first 99 tracks only, in most case we use only first 20-30 tracks) in any order
    MultiCam map track numbers to keypad key
    2 to 9 videos preview in one preview windows
    *new* preview can set to show window always on top or not
    preview videos arranged to match keypad key locations
    resizable preview window, single key to adjust and match aspect ratio
    intuitive UI, multi-cam editing decision with one mouse click or key press with keypad
    *new* Red box outside the current used video in preview window
    *new* Edit decision by dircet click on preview window
    default transition to cut or preset effects
    adjustable default transition length, 10 preset transitions
    forward/revsrse transition setting with automatical toggle switch
    4 ToasterScript commands added with module
    *new* Load and Save tracks and DVEs setting from/to file.

    Here are the UI and document:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MC_PVW6.jpg 
Views:	113 
Size:	157.0 KB 
ID:	136269

    MultiCam.pdf

    I am sorry that my web site was closed two years ago. If anyone is interested with my old plugins, I will send him the document file about the plugin. I hope I can reopen my web site in the near future.
    =============
    Chen Pan

    [email protected]
    =============

  13. #13
    Multimedia Magician
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    282
    Multicam is great! Anyone using multiple camera streams should seriously consider this to use with Speed Edit. We use it ll the time and it's great!

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by travisr View Post
    Multicam is great! Anyone using multiple camera streams should seriously consider this to use with Speed Edit. We use it ll the time and it's great!
    Thank you, travisr.
    =============
    Chen Pan

    [email protected]
    =============

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,449
    NewTek doesn't own Aura anymore... it switched hands a few times, and is now called TVPaint: https://www.tvpaint.com
    Unfortunately it is now obscenely expensive, and quite annoying to buy. Yes, some companies haven't left the 90s and still require dongles in the products.
    Last edited by MichaelT; 05-29-2017 at 05:54 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •