Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Network Rendering: Dreamlight Constellation vs. Butterfly (head to head)

Network Rendering: Dreamlight Constellation vs. Butterfly (head to head)

So, I've been using Constellation for a few months now. I've always been looking at the nodes and saying to myself, "wow... there's like 30 seconds there where it's literally not doing anything." The reason? it's just a screamernet interface. But is Butterfly any different?

Uh... hell yes it is!

I'm not sure if Butterfly is still using the LWSN.exe file to execute renders, or exactly what's going on under the hood (yet); But I can tell you that there is virtually no delay between frames. I can also tell you that rather than using a text file on the host computer to transfer messages, there is an actual node app that sends messages back and forth every few seconds (including how much memory is being used on the nodes in real time).

What does this mean?

On a 7484 frame render (testing some mocap on some sticks parented to each FBX bone) that Butterfly uses ~30s per frame (I also have some fiberFX/bullet mohawk hair to test the mocap to see if the movement is too severe, as well as a human head to test the mocap face). On the same scene, Constellation is about 1:15 per frame.. 30s of which is just screamernet saying, "yep I'm done, waiting". THAT'S A HUGE DIFFERENCE!!!

Not only that, but if I set up an after effects scene to process the image files into a movie, I can set that in the queue after any LW camera angles, and BLAMO! It processes AEX directly after the LW is done (or Nuke, or whatever you like... Butterfly has a lot of different render types).

Then there's updates. Constellation hasn't been updated in over a year! Butterfly... much more up to date on their development.