Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lightning / Electricity : What ever happened to Vertilectric?

Lightning / Electricity : What ever happened to Vertilectric?

So, I've been using Lightwave since 1995 (on an Amiga back then). Took a break after V6.5 (2003) to go to Maya, and came back 2 years ago with LW2015. Of course, all the plugin architecture is redone, so all of my plugin libraries no longer work (Vertilectric, Realflow, Puppet Master, the list goes on for like ever of what I have). But ok... with the newer features in LW you don't really need them, right?

WRONG!

I'm trying to do quick lightning, and it must flow from one point to another (and both points are moving). Vertilectric used to let you do that... VERY quickly. 2 nulls, generate the lightning, tell it how complex you want it... and bamo! You're done. (I think all the Vorlon Lightning was done with it in B5... but don't quote me on that it's been a while since that show was out). It rendered quick and was totally awesome.

Now that plugin is no more. And the only thing I can find out there is some stupid tutorial that says you now have to MODEL the lightning and use morph mixer, and animate it by hand?! (let alone if you want the two points to move, or lightning to curve around something). Uh... that's way too long, and I've seen the results... it sucks.

Now if this were Maya, I'd just throw my hands up and multi-pass render my scene and composite in the lightning in Nuke or even AEX. But again, more tedious than using lightwave and just throwing the lightning in the scene (especially if I wanted to use Radiosity to have it emit light).

Now I know what you're going to say...

"Just model the lightning"
    "just animate the points and use IK chains"
    "Just add a flickering area light"
    There's about 100 "justs" that you're going to say, when there used to be JUST ONE! (Vertilectric)