Thread: Tricaster MACROS for for DUMMIES: Any Tips and Tricks?

Tricaster MACROS for for DUMMIES: Any Tips and Tricks?

Hey guys,
    as some of you already might now I am a newbie in the Tricaster world.
    I finally "GOT IT" and was able to convert some of our After Effects projects into the Tricaster.
    But one thing that is confounding me is the Macros.
    I understand HOW TO SET THEM UP, but I dont understand HOW they work.
    And what the heck is 50%-75%-100%/ Snapshot?

Any tips/ help/ tutorials/ videos would be appreciated.
    -R
    This message does not reflect the opinions of the US Government, CG Networks or CGTALK.com. The opinions expressed on this posting are on my own volition.

If you haven't seen it, video #12 in this list is a good place to start.
    http://newtek.com/support/certified/...s.html?id=1121

Here is a link to the video directly on Vimeo, this one can also go full screen.
    https://vimeo.com/90129535?TB_iframe...ht=540&modal=1
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

Sometimes I approach macros by [1] figuring out what I want to happen, [2] recording the steps without much concern about timing, then [3] go into the script and alter the timing of the steps to clean up the performance of the macro.

Not what you would call the scientific, learning-the-macro-language approach. More the making-the-TriCaster-do-what-I-want-it-to-do approach.
    Tricaster 460
    HD-SDI over coax
    JVC 890 x 2
    Panasonic 370 x 1

Hi Robert,

Macros are FUN! I agree with Paris' philosophy - have a plan, record the steps, then do some cleanup. You seldom get the exact desired results on the first try.