Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Remote Control / Remote Desktop

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4

    Lightbulb Remote Control / Remote Desktop

    Would any of you Tricaster owners be willing to participate in a project of documenting successful remote desktop control/connection (RDC) methods?

    We would set out to create a how-to section, a section on why to use RDC rather than other remote control methods, and a section with notes on bugs, warnings, and complications.

    Here are some of the applications we may try: Teamviewer, WRDC, Real VNC, Join.me, Splashtop, LogMeIn Pro, Ultra VNC, AMMYY Adminn, and Remote over IP KVMs if they are obtainable.

    Anyone interested in helping?

    - - - Updated - - -

    First question, does anyone know how NewTek provides remote support?
    Last edited by audioman83; 12-02-2016 at 10:09 AM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    523
    I use TeamViewer with TriCaster on nearly a daily basis. Be happy to discuss it with you.

    Drop me a PM.

    Regards,

    Fritz Golman
    Museum of Broadcast Communications

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4
    fgolman, Ok will do

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4
    Anyone else interested in helping with this project?

  5. #5
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,216
    We use TeamViewer on TriCasters also but never really in a live production application. For dependable Live Production applications we always go with an IP controllable KVM interface. VNC is usually the method to remotely dial into the KVMs we have used in the past. I believe Newtek support uses at times the ScreenConnect now ConnectWise Control software. I have looked into it but haven't used it extensively. I personally still prefer Teamviewer's interface and functionality since we use it on iPads, iPhones and PCs to control about 50+ machines.

    I would love it if NewTek would officially support a remote software solution so that we would know all is good in the TriCaster world.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  6. #6
    Just be aware that remote desktop solutions use GPU resources and TriCaster expects to be able to use all GPU resources. I know that people do use these tools, they aren't supported and in some situations could possibly cause issues.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4
    kanep. yep. noted. thanks for your input.

  8. #8
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,216
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    Just be aware that remote desktop solutions use GPU resources and TriCaster expects to be able to use all GPU resources. I know that people do use these tools, they aren't supported and in some situations could possibly cause issues.
    That is why for the best case scenario and mission control bulletproof needs, we always go with an IP accessible KVM external from the TriCaster.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    523
    I've never used it for live, just preproduction setup.

    As noted, I'd be concerned about it stealing cycles from the CPU in mission critical operations.

    But, in an emergency, it might work OK.

    Fritz Golman
    Museum of Broadcast Communications

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    23
    Hi Jeff,

    What make/model of IP-KVM do you suggest?

    Regards,

    Chuck Johnson
    Big Bad Wolf Creative Group
    817-429-0818

  11. #11
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,216
    Quote Originally Posted by Goglplx View Post
    Hi Jeff,

    What make/model of IP-KVM do you suggest?

    Regards,

    Chuck Johnson
    Big Bad Wolf Creative Group
    817-429-0818
    Adder, BlackBox are some of the better solutions.

    Definitely stay away from the Gefen KVM or Desktop Extenders over IP. Lots of crazy stuff happens because of how they handle EDID. Just FYI.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  12. #12
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,714
    Adder has added functionality to their Infinity Dual Link Series IP KVM to provide proper USB emulation for NewTek USB connected control surfaces.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181
    Do you really need a hardware transmitter and receiver for each computer you want to control with the Adder Infinity stuff?

    That's $3000 to start. Ouch.
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181
    Currently testing TeamViewer, though I don't think we'll go with it due to ridiculous software licensing (hmm sounds familiar)

    Is there any way to get the TriCaster to stop complaining that TeamViewer is installed? Those precious seconds add up, especially when booting from horrifyingly slow TC Mini drives.
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  15. #15
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,714
    Quote Originally Posted by lukerctv View Post

    Is there any way to get the TriCaster to stop complaining that TeamViewer is installed? Those precious seconds add up, especially when booting from horrifyingly slow TC Mini drives.
    No, the warning screen is a support tool that allows our support team to know what is installed on the machine when doing troubleshooting.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •