Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 221

Thread: Cycles for Lightwave ? Tip and trick ?

  1. #46
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    Can cycles compile a scene and then open in another 3d app that uses cycles, too?
    That's really useful in vray.

  2. #47
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    France
    Posts
    150
    Not sure but Cycles can read xml API as input and then convert in rendering, by this way it can be use other 3D app.

  3. #48
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,513
    Quote Originally Posted by samurai_x View Post
    Can cycles compile a scene and then open in another 3d app that uses cycles, too?
    That's really useful in vray.
    IIRC, Cycles doesn't yet have anything quite the equivalent of Vray's .vrmesh, .vrmat, and .vrscene external formats for cross-platform scene exchange -- at least in the sense of 3D-package-generic file representations for all entities that are needed to render a scene, as those functions provide for Vray.

    It's important to remember that Vray IO infrastructure stemmed from a combination of ChaosGroup research making Vray instancing more efficient (.vrmesh's origin), as well as their dealing with Vray customer needs across many different packages (.vrmat & .vrscene origin). Cycles isn't quite at the same point in their customer or feature growth, nor have to deal with as many different client 3D packages, so it isn't that surprising that the Cycles devs aren't (yet) prioritizing such 3D-package-generic IO capabilities.
    Last edited by jwiede; 02-01-2017 at 03:06 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  4. #49
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    Blender cycles 2.78
    https://blenderartists.org/forum/sho...-(Updated-BMW)

    Time in minutes
    i7 5820k - 06:54
    Ryzen 1800x - 05.03
    Nvidia GTX 1060 3GB - 01.28
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders - 47 seconds
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders + EVGA GTX 980 - 29 seconds




    Cycles is improving a lot!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	untitled.jpg 
Views:	490 
Size:	77.2 KB 
ID:	136274  

  5. #50
    It's impressive, I'm trying to convert that scene into a LightWave scene but have't had any luck, I'd have to go through object by object I think, can't be bothered. Headlight glows are great.

  6. #51
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    It is impressive.
    Its catching up to octane renderer imo.
    My guesstimate its as fast as my renders in Octane v2. Can't compare octane cpu vs cycle cpu because octane hasn't released their cpu version yet. Of course it will be slow its a pathtracer on cpu.

    But the licensing with cycles4D is definitely better.
    185 euro for cycles render
    60 euro for render nodes.

  7. #52
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    3dslider
    Any progress with integrating cycles to lightwave?

  8. #53
    Quote Originally Posted by samurai_x View Post
    Blender cycles 2.78
    https://blenderartists.org/forum/sho...-(Updated-BMW)

    Time in minutes
    i7 5820k - 06:54
    Ryzen 1800x - 05.03
    Nvidia GTX 1060 3GB - 01.28
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders - 47 seconds
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders + EVGA GTX 980 - 29 seconds
    2:54 with a GTX 660
    1:48 with 2 E5-2670s

    It seems strange that the author says that it look him 1:42 with a GTX 770. The difference between it and the 1060 is too small and the difference between it and the 660 is too big.

  9. #54
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    France
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by samurai_x View Post
    3dslider
    Any progress with integrating cycles to lightwave?
    Yeah, there is progress but very slowly(due from my free time) because to edit is a headache in Cycles, I need to find some good algorithm to adapt to Lightwave. I am working on retrieving for 3D model, UI interaction and 3D rendering from now, the result is not yet given.

    Voilā, that i can say for the time being.

    More to come later in progress.

  10. #55
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks 3dslider.

    That E5-2670s is pretty good for rendering and the price is low.
    Cycles for CPU has decent performance.

  11. #56
    Registered User annatronci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    8
    if it can help this is my personal test :
    BMW27

    asus strix 1080 1:05.96
    2 k 4200 quadro 1:33.03
    i7 6800 2:38.93
    dual xeon E5 2620 2:52

  12. #57
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,449
    Sometimes I wonder why test scenes are set for unnecessarily high quality? You can get similar results at much lower levels, and render the scene in ~20 seconds on an GTX 1080.
    But the unaltered scene takes ~1m 2 seconds.

    This is the 20 seconds one.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bmw.png 
Views:	386 
Size:	667.2 KB 
ID:	136279

  13. #58
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelT View Post
    Sometimes I wonder why test scenes are set for unnecessarily high quality? You can get similar results at much lower levels, and render the scene in ~20 seconds on an GTX 1080.
    But the unaltered scene takes ~1m 2 seconds.

    This is the 20 seconds one.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bmw.png 
Views:	386 
Size:	667.2 KB 
ID:	136279

    Your render is extremely noisy. And the floor is missing the beautiful blurry reflection.


    This is from that thread without touching the settings in the scene.


    Thats the problem with pathtracers like cycles, octane. Cleaning up the noise takes so much time compared to biased rendere like redshift.

  14. #59
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    Anyone have a 1050 Ti for benchmarking that scene?

  15. #60
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    So is this abandonware?
    I saw 3dslider asking at the modo forums if people are interested in a modo plugin.

Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •