Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: LWSN and Windows Server?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    92

    LWSN and Windows Server?

    Can I install LW2015 on Windows Server, or am I going to need to buy servers that I can install workstation software on? I convinced my wife to let me buy two Dell R610s (total of 16 cores / 32 threads) so I can render without sacrificing my main machine. Thing is... I'm not sure I CAN put workstation software (Win7,8.1,10) on them. I'd MUCH rather just leave server 2008 on them.

    My farm as it currently stands:

    Main workstation:
    • MSI X99a Gaming 7 Mobo
    • Intel i7 5960X (overclocked to 3.8GHz with liquid cooling)
    • 32GB Corsair Dominator RAM @ 3.0GHz clock
    • nVidia GeForce Titan X
    • Windows 10 Pro 64

    Lenovo Y70 Laptop
    • i7 @ 2.66 (quad core)
    • 16GB RAM
    • GeForce 960m
    • Windows 10 Home 64

    Some HP tower
    • Intel 2.66 (quad core) i7
    • 16GB RAM
    • nVideo GeForce 570
    • Windows 10 Home 64

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    France
    Posts
    498
    You can install LightWave without problem as long as you pay attention to rights during installation and use. Think also to install what is media (Directx, etc...).

    It is possible to install a Windows no server (example Windows 10) but you'll need compatible drivers (especially for storage, the SAS is unrecognized). Otherwise, you can install a SATA drives to boot.

  3. #3
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,848
    Works with server 2008... I have had our nodes running on Server 2008 R2 for a while now, and it works fine.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  4. #4
    I had some annoying message about bluetooth not available whenever I start lightwave or lwsn and lightwave doesnt seem to support 64 cores on four sockets ( 63 cores are working ). It always crashes after some minutes ..
    martin dulovits
    technical director

    www.woogieworks.com

  5. #5
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,848
    Yeah, I had the Bluetooth error messages too.
    It's a Microsoft visual c redistributable installers! Make sure you have them all installed!
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •