Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 29 of 29

Thread: Maxwell render no longer supporting Lightwave

  1. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    S
    Posts
    3,511
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkLane View Post
    I can´t get really worked up about this too much since I´ve owned Maxwell Render 2.7 and 3 and have used it just fine with LW for the past decade. The changes to maxwell are generally limited and I found not much difference in quality between 2.7 and 3. If 4 won´t support LW, I´ll just keep using 3 and be happy with the results.
    How have you managed over time, the licence being locked to the hostID of a given machine?

  2. #17
    Can we still purchase the Maxwell plugin for LightWave? They no longer have it as an option on their site.

  3. #18
    Super Member Snosrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    4,923
    Quote Originally Posted by djwaterman View Post
    Can we still purchase the Maxwell plugin for LightWave? They no longer have it as an option on their site.
    Why would you want to.

  4. #19
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    Quote Originally Posted by Snosrap View Post
    Why would you want to.
    Exactly. Its like watching paint dry.
    If people need unbiased renderer there's octane for lw. Its still slow for interiors but faster than maxwell ofcourse.
    But for archiviz in lw to get the most quality kray is still relevant.
    For jobs that only pay 200-300 bucks per render there's Unreal.

  5. #20
    Octane is not slow for interiors, but it does require a certain amount of light to be present in order to provide a fast noise-free result. An optimized Octane interior scene makes a heck of a difference. Both sides of this render used 100 samples and required 16 seconds to process (1x 780 TI), they both use the exact same settings, but the right side benefits from light balancing techniques.



    Perhaps in the future it'll become unnecessary to light-balance a scene enough to clear noise quickly for interiors, as it would add some convenience to Octane's workflow for sure.
    Last edited by Ryan Roye; 11-14-2016 at 09:59 PM.
    Professional-level 3d training: Ryan's Lightwave Learning
    Plugin Developer: RR Tools for Lightwave

  6. #21
    Super Member samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    1,231
    Let me rephrase that. Its not slower than maxwell. It is slower than a lot of other renderers out there.
    Kray would eat octane alive for interiors. Talking evermotion quality renders not talking about toon quality renders.

  7. #22
    Registered User antoniomitalia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    7
    Hi guys, so what is the best renderer for LW? what are you using?

  8. #23
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,374
    LW2019 native renderer or Octane (cuda).
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019

  9. #24
    Octane Render, but you have to use Octane materials…
    Eddy Marillat - PIXYM
    WS : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - i9 7980XE 2,6ghz 18C/36T - 32GB Ram- 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
    GPU Net Rig : MB Biostar - Celeron 2,8 ghz 2C/2T - 8GB Ram - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7 64

  10. #25
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan Roye View Post
    Octane is not slow for interiors, but it does require a certain amount of light to be present in order to provide a fast noise-free result. An optimized Octane interior scene makes a heck of a difference. Both sides of this render used 100 samples and required 16 seconds to process (1x 780 TI), they both use the exact same settings, but the right side benefits from light balancing techniques.



    Perhaps in the future it'll become unnecessary to light-balance a scene enough to clear noise quickly for interiors, as it would add some convenience to Octane's workflow for sure.
    the picture is not available,
    you can prepare a simple scene explaining what you are writing about optimized Octane interior?
    2D/3D Specialist
    http://www.render-up.com
    Win10 64bit, Dual Xeon E5-2696 V2 @ OC 3,3 GHz per Core, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    143
    Even though Maxwell Render no longer supports Lightwave I thought I should mention their next release promises multi-GPU rendering.

    BTW: v4 documentation says the Studio version supports LWO files, but does that just mean geometry made in Lightwave? Does that mean we can still open a LWO scene in Studio but must assign light and materials using their program?
    System:

    i7-8086K / GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM

  12. #27
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,578
    Quote Originally Posted by samurai_x View Post
    Exactly. Its like watching paint dry.
    Perhaps, but Maxwell's brutally accurate (always has been), esp. with "optical simulation"-type scenarios, which still cause problems for many other unbiased renderers on the market. The design of the Maxwell material system also strongly lends itself to cases where you need "extreme optical versimillitude". There too, Maxwell easily supports material designs that would be difficult to replicate with similar "precision" on other unbiased render engines.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  13. #28
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    15,252
    Quote Originally Posted by Bernie2Strokes View Post
    Even though Maxwell Render no longer supports Lightwave I thought I should mention their next release promises multi-GPU rendering.

    BTW: v4 documentation says the Studio version supports LWO files, but does that just mean geometry made in Lightwave? Does that mean we can still open a LWO scene in Studio but must assign light and materials using their program?
    lwo is object files not a scenefile.
    lws is a scenefile..
    which is probably excluded.

  14. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    lwo is object files not a scenefile.
    lws is a scenefile..
    which is probably excluded.
    You're right. I looked more into it and it will only accept objects not created with the help of special plug-ins. At best, you could use Maxwell Studio to render product shots like cars, drinks, and electronic devices.
    System:

    i7-8086K / GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •