Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Fill holes with multiple polys?

  1. #1
    Registered User squarewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    South Bend, Indiana
    Posts
    438

    Cool Fill holes with multiple polys?

    Say you have a mesh like this
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	example_hole.png 
Views:	91 
Size:	16.5 KB 
ID:	131812

    Is it possible to fill that hole with quads easily? I know I can bridge then split and weld etc etc, but there has to a way to do it quicker than that, right? I find I spend a lot of time filling in holes while modeling or modifying a mesh.

  2. #2
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    17,395
    Quote Originally Posted by squarewulf View Post
    Say you have a mesh like this
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	example_hole.png 
Views:	91 
Size:	16.5 KB 
ID:	131812

    Is it possible to fill that hole with quads easily? I know I can bridge then split and weld etc etc, but there has to a way to do it quicker than that, right? I find I spend a lot of time filling in holes while modeling or modifying a mesh.
    if you got 11.6.2 and up ..you could look for close holes, (edge pack)

    or select outline edges or points in a a loop if possiple, just make poly, use cm_subdivide, cm polydivide or quad skin. (free plugins..search the lightwav plugin database)

    natively..

    you can also just select that created polygon, shift t for triangulate it, then use merge triangles, then correct polyflow if needed.

  3. #3
    Registered User squarewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    South Bend, Indiana
    Posts
    438
    cm_polydivide is close to what i need, this may work.

    Quad_skin seems to not work in lw2015.

    Thanks for the suggestions! These definitely help.

  4. #4
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    What you want is QuadSkinPatcher. It's awesome!
    (not in the database... and different than Quad Skin which just does one strip. Quad Skin is only 32 bit anyway.... probably why it's not working for you).

    It comes with a good .html based Read Me (how to) presentation.
    But there is also Erikals video(s)
    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

  5. #5
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    17,395
    Quote Originally Posted by squarewulf View Post
    cm_polydivide is close to what i need, this may work.

    Quad_skin seems to not work in lw2015.

    Thanks for the suggestions! These definitely help.
    quadskin works perfectly fine in lw 2015...32 bit that is, I havenīt even installed 64 bit for lw 2015, there are soo many plugins only available in 32 bit for modeling that I can live withour the 64 bit version, I would swap between lw 64 and 32 bit too much otherwise..But using layout with dense meshes is a different thing, and also huge particle amounts..then the 64 bit is a must.

    if you used quadskin on a selected poly, that will not work properly, select outline points, or just select your poly and convert to point selection and run quad skin..should work, and yes qaudskin patcher is nice too perhaps..but I often get errors with that one, maybe I should read the manual or watch erikals vids more...but I prefer a tool without reading up too much on it regarding simple things like this, so quad skin works without errors, so try quadskin again..just remember to use point outline selection, and in 32 bit that is.


    otherwise use detail tab, mesh repair, cap holes and uncheck the rest...this will however cap/close every other hole in a mesh.

  6. #6
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    17,395
    a difference between quadskin patcher, and quad skin you get flipped polys..that I do not like, and you can not select a poly and convert to outline points, it needs to be aware of point selection order..quad skin does close it with polys correct, and you can select one poly and convert without taking in account the point order.

    so in case you already have cap it first with some cap holes tools, and just want to divide it, seems to me quad skin is to be used, or cm divide, cm polydivide.
    to be aware of, quadskin to divide a polygon isnīt clean..you need to remove original polygon after that..so that is only to be used in special occasions dividing a polygon..or maybe not.huh I got to go and sleep now it seems.

  7. #7
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    17,395
    If you use the quadskin patcher, regarding flipped polygons, you of course have to either manually reselect and flip them, or a bit easier, use align command preferably mapped to shortcut or a right click mouse menu perhaps.

  8. #8
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    Follow the directions. Select counterclockwise. No flipping necessary. It's fantastic.
    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

  9. #9
    ex-LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,264
    Alternatively, you can do it in Modeler without plugins. Use Select Open Edges, convert to Point selection, hit p. This does only work for single missing quads or tris of course. If you have bigger holes, you will need to make them into quads using l. (I use this for laser scanning work where polys get missed)

    B
    Ben Vost
    LightWave 3D Docs wiki
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 456.71, 2x4K 23.5" monitors
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  10. #10
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    17,395
    hereīs some images showing re-mesh results from some commands and free plugins...






    Plugins to be found here...
    https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/p...cm_polydivide/
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	remesh.jpg 
Views:	292 
Size:	446.1 KB 
ID:	131827  

  11. #11
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    17,395
    Quote Originally Posted by JoePoe View Post
    Follow the directions. Select counterclockwise. No flipping necessary. It's fantastic.

    I am used to stuff going from left to right, except listening to yoda and going in that direction in terms of politics.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •