Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: EPS file conversion

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    fairless hills pa
    Posts
    9

    Cool EPS file conversion

    Hi Everyone.

    I am a newbie in this forum. I just decided to buy Lightwave again after a 17 year break. I used to create with it when i had the video toaster 4000, personal animation recorder, and the biggest hard drive was about a gb.

    I'm trying to import a logo to make a model. It says it has to be EPS file. So, I sent the logo into paint shop pro, made it an EPS file and attempted several times to import it to no avail. Does anyone know what i'm doing wrong ? It's probably a basic oversight.

    Thanks for any and all assistance.

    Litewavejohnnie

  2. #2
    Are you saving it as the Illustrator 8 format?
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    fairless hills pa
    Posts
    9
    Hey thanks ernpchan for your quick response.

    NO, I no longer have the creative cloud .

    Sincerely,

    Litewavejohnnie

  4. #4
    Scene Destroyer DrStrik9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,684
    I don't have experience with paint shop pro, but if you have access to Adobe Illustrator, you can save the file as a version 8 (or earlier) eps, and Modeler loads this well. I'm sure there are other (non-Adobe) workflows; this is what I use.

    If paint shop pro allows saving various versions of eps files, try earlier ones.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    fairless hills pa
    Posts
    9
    Thank you DrStrik9.

    I dont have access to illustrator any longer. I'll have to keep searching for a non adobe solution. Thank for your quick response.

    Sincerely,

    Litewavejohnnie

  6. #6
    You could try inkscape.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    fairless hills pa
    Posts
    9
    thanks ernpchan,

    just tried it. does not work. cool free program though

    sincerely,

    Litewavejohnnie

  8. #8
    Hm ok. I know there are other free alternatives to illustrator. The key would be finding one that exports the eps format that LightWave supports.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    fairless hills pa
    Posts
    9
    i'll keep trying...and i'll figure it out. Hard to believe that it's that proprietary. I remember doing it back in the 90"S converting files in Art Dept Pro. It was quick and painless.
    i'll post my workaround if i can figure it out.

    Thanks again for your assistance.

    Sincerely,

    Litewavejohnnie.

  10. #10
    Man of many cells. shrox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Eureka, CA
    Posts
    6,962
    Export to the oldest format you can. That helps.
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing


    -----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.

  11. #11
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    What software DO you have access to? When you say "inkscape didn't work", what was your procedure?

    And: it's not sufficient that it be an EPS file, it has to be a vector file (there are bitmapped EPS files).

    Try starting with an EXTREMELY simple vector file, a circle or a square, to get the procedure down first.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,795
    If all you have is a bitmap image of the logo, you'll need to "vectorize" it somehow, then save it as a vector EPS file, as jeric_synergy says. For example, using CorelDRAW, you can use the Tracing functionality to do edge detection and produce vector objects. Exporting as an EPS file afterward can be imported into Modeler. It looks like InkScape can do so:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-xxhphybnE

    I've usually just hand traced a Logo image by setting up the image as the Backdrop in the Lower Left (default Back) viewport in Modeler, use Draw Spline and right-clicking along the edges. I use ALT-CTRL and ALT-SHIFT to zoom and shift the viewport as I proceed. After doing a rough-draft, I go back and fine-tune using the Multiply=>Add Points or Knife to sharpen corners, or use CTRL-T to move points around to fit the logo edges.

    Hand tracing takes a little while, but usually not bad. I've had more luck with this "brute force" approach than wrestling with the automatic edge detection software, which I seem to have to tweak a lot anyway. Probably a lack of experience with that software, though.

    mTp
    Last edited by MonroePoteet; 01-03-2016 at 01:38 PM. Reason: Add InkScape link

  13. #13
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    As I've said before, I've had more luck with AE than PS, but it sounds like the OP doesn't have those anyway.

    I'm kinda allergic to AI, which should by all rights be the best suited for this task.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  14. #14
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    Try saving as .svg in your vector program.
    Import into Blender (which it does beautifully.... colors and all!).
    Save as .obj.
    In Modeler you will probably have to run shift z or Unigon to merge triangles.
    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

  15. #15
    You could try splotchdog's svg importer.
    http://www.splotchdog.com/
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •