Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40

Thread: Genoma 2 multi-Character issues

  1. #16
    Rebel, I'm just curious as to why you weren't on the team to help develop Genoma?

  2. #17
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,792
    Much the same reason I wasnt involved in the making of the last Bond film.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  3. #18
    Grumpy Faux-Waver DogBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Central London
    Posts
    1,549
    It does beg the question, why isn't there a script for this? It's not like multi-character scenes are a rare occurrence.
    fauxWaver \foʊ-wāv-er\, n. one who likes LightWave, but shuns car-anologies.

  4. #19
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,652
    I'd have to look at it, but I believe the functionality to rename expressions isn't available to lScript; LWPython is a different beast, and may be able to do it.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  5. #20
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,792
    Nope, there's nothing in the sdk that allows renaming of expressions, neither can you just destroy the originals and recreate them as there's no way to get the channel that any given expression is originally attached to. Manual is the only way.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  6. #21
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,652
    That sounds like a feature request to me...
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  7. #22
    TD/Animator lino.grandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    1,709
    If you need to use more than one character in your scene and you want to use the Genoma2 biped presets (which uses Math Expressions) you'll need to follow the following steps:

    1) Create your rig (the name of the mesh will be automatically used to give unique names to the math expressions).
    2) Launch the included generic LScript that simply renames the proper controls using the object name as prefix.
    3) Save the scene, since at that point the item names used in the expressions will be automatically updated.

    Repeat the operations with another character using of course a different name for the mesh.

    Then it will be possible to use the 2 rigs in the same scene with no problem.

    I'm sorry to have noticed this thread just today. Solution was quite simple.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Lino Grandi

    3D Artist at OTOY

  8. #23
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks Lino.
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2020

    Very nice Laptop

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    135
    Fantastic! Thanks Lino. I'll give it a whirl. Now this does disable the ability to update the rig correct? Since the naming is now off?

  10. #25
    TD/Animator lino.grandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    1,709
    You're welcome!
    Lino Grandi

    3D Artist at OTOY

  11. #26
    TD/Animator lino.grandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    1,709
    Quote Originally Posted by bpritchard View Post
    Fantastic! Thanks Lino. I'll give it a whirl. Now this does disable the ability to update the rig correct? Since the naming is now off?
    Yes it does. This is an operation you should perform once the rig is final.
    Lino Grandi

    3D Artist at OTOY

  12. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ghana West Africa
    Posts
    869
    Quote Originally Posted by lino.grandi View Post
    If you need to use more than one character in your scene and you want to use the Genoma2 biped presets (which uses Math Expressions) you'll need to follow the following steps:

    1) Create your rig (the name of the mesh will be automatically used to give unique names to the math expressions).
    2) Launch the included generic LScript that simply renames the proper controls using the object name as prefix.
    3) Save the scene, since at that point the item names used in the expressions will be automatically updated.

    Repeat the operations with another character using of course a different name for the mesh.

    Then it will be possible to use the 2 rigs in the same scene with no problem.

    I'm sorry to have noticed this thread just today. Solution was quite simple.
    Any updates for this in lw 2019?
    I'm having the same problem.

  13. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ghana West Africa
    Posts
    869
    Quote Originally Posted by Hail View Post
    Any updates for this in lw 2019?
    I'm having the same problem.
    Never mind.
    Got it working in layout.

  14. #29
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,290
    Thank goodness for this community!

    This morning, I needed to pose five generic Genoma Humans in a scene, and then create five variations of that scene, but I knew manually renaming the Genoma rigs was going to be a pain in the butt. I did remember this old thread but I never used Lino's script before and I wasn't sure if it would do what I needed.

    Luckily, it did exactly what I needed! (I'm using 2015 on this particular task because I'm not sure any of this works in 2020 and I had very little time to mess around today.)

    Lino, wherever you are, thank you for posting this script! It was a lifesaver.

  15. #30
    Super Member vncnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,779
    Too bad it is an LScript that becomes unusable from LW2021 onwards.

    Multi-Genoma-rig handling should be an integral part of the Layout.Setup.Genoma.CreateRig function.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •