Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Upgrading Lightwave

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2

    Upgrading Lightwave

    Hello Lightwavers

    As new user I have question about upgrading Lightwave. Every time I install LW I have to reinstall all plugins again. How to avoid that ? LW support told me that I just have to add them to new version because it is not full reinstall. I do not understand the procedure. Can anybody explain how to step by step ?

    Thank you in advance

  2. #2
    ex-LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,259
    Hi RIKOARH,

    I think you need to explain more fully. Why are you re-installing? What plugins are you talking about? If it's third party plugins, like DPKit, LWCAD, Octane, etc. then it's normal if you've installed on a new machine. If you are uninstalling and then re-installing for some reason, then plugins don't normally get deleted on uninstall unless you specifically choose the second option present on uninstall "Would you like to remove your configuration as well?"

    B
    Ben Vost
    LightWave 3D Docs wiki
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 456.71, 2x4K 23.5" monitors
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  3. #3
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by RIKOARH View Post
    Hello Lightwavers

    As new user I have question about upgrading Lightwave. Every time I install LW I have to reinstall all plugins again. How to avoid that ? LW support told me that I just have to add them to new version because it is not full reinstall. I do not understand the procedure. Can anybody explain how to step by step ?

    Thank you in advance
    It's arcane at best but not too bad with a bit of Prep.

    First off, simply have a Newtek Folder on the drive of your choice. When installing a new version, just add a new sub-folder with appropriate name such as Lightwave 11.63 and that's where you install to.

    Before you do anything, go into your current install and you save 4 cfg files. In Modeler, click on the Edit Tab then select Edit Menu Layout then Save and name it something Like My Last Modeler Menus.cfg. You can put these in the root folder of the current install. Do the same for the Modeler Hotkey assignments, then the corresponding Menus & Keys for Layout.

    Install your new Lightwave version to the Newtek folder and give it's new folder a unique name of course.

    Once you've done that, go into the new Lightwave/Support folder & create a new subfolder and name it something like : 3rd Party Plugs.

    This is where you'll create folders for your acquired & purchased plug-ins and scripts. Copy any existing ones that you already have here into their own sub. You'll need to copy any needed .key files and such for purchased plugs to wherever they need to go.

    Also, if you don't do so already, go into the new installs BIN folder and create a Configs folder.

    This is the folder you need to point to in your startup icons command line area, and where your config file changes get saved to instead of some buried folder on your root drive..

    Once you get the new version installed and smoke tested, make sure your registration key is working, etc. then simply repeat the saving of those 4 cfg files for the new version before you do anything so you have them of the default install just in case, then load the previous ones you saved earlier. Your menus should all be in tact; might have to re-register things such as LWCad if you have it, but you should be pretty much there.

  4. #4
    Super Member spherical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Juan Island
    Posts
    4,686
    Quote Originally Posted by Ma3rk View Post
    then load the previous [menu/keyboard configs] you saved earlier. Your menus should all be in tact; might have to re-register things such as LWCad if you have it, but you should be pretty much there.
    This is sometimes dangerous. More than once, the default menus have changed in a new version. If you do this without checking, you'll wipe those defaults out. New stuff won't appear and stuff removed will be back but inaccessible. Therefore, it may be advisable to create your own tabs that have nothing to do with the defaults and save those out to be transferred to the new install alongside the new defaults.
    Blown Glass · Carbon Fiber + Imagination

    Spherical Magic | We Build Cool Stuff!

    "When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade, without further introduction." - Mark Twain

  5. #5
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by spherical View Post
    This is sometimes dangerous. More than once, the default menus have changed in a new version. If you do this without checking, you'll wipe those defaults out. New stuff won't appear and stuff removed will be back but inaccessible. Therefore, it may be advisable to create your own tabs that have nothing to do with the defaults and save those out to be transferred to the new install alongside the new defaults.
    That's why I save out the new "default" menus. You can then edit and save out branches and essentially do what you're suggesting, but that's a bit more involved.

  6. #6
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,741
    Quote Originally Posted by spherical View Post
    New stuff won't appear and stuff removed will be back but inaccessible.
    Just to clarify: in the situation spherical describes, if plugins are re-added (by SCAN, this happens automatically), they won't be present IN THE U.I, but you will still be able to FIND them in the Menu Editor and the Key Editor. Certainly inconvenient, because you'll have to manually re-add them to your customized U.I.

    Just wanted to reduce the dire-ness of "inaccessible".
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  7. #7
    Super Member spherical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Juan Island
    Posts
    4,686
    If the capability has been removed (IOW, superseded by something else) and the new menu reflects that, putting an old menu back in will bring back the button to activate the tool that is now obsolete/removed; but it won't activate because it isn't there anymore TO BE activated. The menu entry will be there, but connected to nothing.
    Blown Glass · Carbon Fiber + Imagination

    Spherical Magic | We Build Cool Stuff!

    "When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade, without further introduction." - Mark Twain

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •