Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: Mesh updates

  1. #16
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,300
    It works! The Callback is called, the mesh is created and VPR updates.
    Thanks for your golden tips, as usual. You're a real Sensei

    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Never tried it.
    You have code working with MeshEdit ready, so give it a try..
    You will be the first one in the Universe.

  2. #17
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,276
    that sounds promising!
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  3. #18
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,300
    Just a little more patience, but I can already tell you that it's looking good!

    Quote Originally Posted by Dodgy View Post
    that sounds promising!

  4. #19
    Mind doing that sim in vpr?
    So purty...
    Robert Wilson, MA Deaf Ed.
    Indiana Deaf School
    This e-mail may contain information protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.

  5. #20
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,300
    I added a small test to the youtube channel, it looks blobby because I didn't do any tweaking.

    creacon

  6. #21
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,276
    Looking good! Does this get around the surfacing issues and how quick is it to remesh everything?
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  7. #22
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,300
    Simulation is faster than realtime in this case.
    Meshing going from 0.5S for the first frame to about 5S on the last (the longest time is taken by LW for removing the previous polygons and points).

    From start to finish this took about 90 minutes, rendering included.

    Thanks to Sensei's tip VPR updates correctly.
    Meshing will be very system dependent because OpenVDB uses Intel TBB and will make your CPU work hard, so this is on a dual six-core, 2.6Ghz.

    Because there is no object being loaded you can set the surface on any frame and it keeps that surface for the length of the simulation, for now it is always called "Default" but I think I can change that.

    You can save an object sequence after meshing.

    When you load that back in you have to put the surface editor "By scene" and add another object with the same surface name (a one point poly should suffice).
    So it's not pretty but it works.



    Quote Originally Posted by Dodgy View Post
    Looking good! Does this get around the surfacing issues and how quick is it to remesh everything?

  8. #23
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,650
    Wow! Great work creacon!!!
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  9. #24
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,300
    Added another one to the channel, but now I have a new problem:

    OpenGL works, VPR works, F9 works. But an F10 doesn't update the mesh.

    creacon

  10. #25
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,899
    Quote Originally Posted by creacon View Post
    Added another one to the channel, but now I have a new problem:
    what Channel?

    OpenGL, VPR works, F9 works. But an F10 doesn't update the mesh.

    creacon
    threaded mesh evaluation is on or off?

  11. #26
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,300
    I meant the youtube channel.
    I'll have to check tonight for the threaded setting, but it's probably on, I'll check and see what happens if I switch it off.

    creacon

    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    what Channel?



    threaded mesh evaluation is on or off?

  12. #27
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,300
    And about this problem, multithreaded mesh eval was on. I switched it off but the problem remains.

    I put breakpoints and the objectreplacer gets triggered, and it invokes the meshedit, so something else in my loop isn't updating.

    creacon

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •