Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on Modelling for 3D printing

Need advice on Modelling for 3D printing

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CoinScreenShot.jpg 
Views:	138 
Size:	107.7 KB 
ID:	128343

Hi there! I'm a beginner on Lightwave and I'm trying to create some game coins for 3D printing. But the process ended up with lots of bad polygons the printer can't understand.

I rushed it and used a 2nd party modelling software to combine the numbers from Lightwave. The cylinder was made in Silo 3D.

I want to create a new coin solely in Lightwave now but how can I avoid making more bad polygons when I combine the numbers on to the cylinder? This coin is supposed to be two-sided.

TrueArt Support
    Merge Points, then Unify Polys.
    Check whether you have 1-2 point polygons, and delete.
    Press + in Polygon Statistics and hit delete.

I assume by "combine" you are using Boolean operations with two models. The issue with that is that, if the meshes are dense enough, there will inevitably be situations where the positioning of the two models will cause a bad condition, as far as the Boolean function is concerned. The more dense the mesh, the higher probability of this occurring. These two models are triangulated and appear to not be one mesh at this stage. Doing Bool Ops with Quads lessens the probability of a bad situation occurring, as there will be roughly 25% fewer Edges to cause problems, as you'll see. Convert the Tris into Quads, if necessary, then work with it. Triangulate as a last step.