Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 70

Thread: Is it a good idea to have a 2nd computer as a render node?

  1. #31
    I just found in 3d artist which talks about this thing called the vca - (its a great mag by the way)

    xeon e5 2.8gh 20 physical cores 40 hyperthreaded 256gigs ram - eight quadro k6000 each with 12 gigs of ram price - 32,000 pounds.

    8 massive gpus- says 23,400 cuda cores.

    this sounds pretty much like a super computer masquerading as a desktop. =)

    apparently you can rent it.
    __________________________________________________ ___________

    awhile ago i found a $50 motherboard that accepted a amd and plugged some ram into it and called it a day - it had onboard graphics so i didn't put a card in it either. - super cheap to set it up - i got a really inexpensive case and 500w powersupply too.

    Maybe someone can for fun try to spec out / build the perfect - super cheap lightwave render node machine?
    minimum 32 gigs of ram though thats mandatory. 8gigs just does not cut it. with a cheap 40 gig ssd card too(so its fast). forget 1tb traditional drives. THat $50 buck mother board i found also had ethernet built into it gigabit too. I'll look and see what kind of motherboards are super cheap but do 32gigs of ram.
    Last edited by vonpietro; 02-18-2015 at 01:37 PM.
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

  2. #32
    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/int...pus,28550.html

    18 core xeon's coming

    http://www.servethehome.com/asrock-r...erboards-ddr3/
    these guys support ddr3 as well as 4 making ram choice way cheaper.
    supports the Xeon E5-2600 v3 (Haswell-EP) chip which has alot of cores.
    so the motherboard is dual socket - so two 12 core procs - 24 cores!! 48 hyperthreads.
    =)

    ok
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...arks,3714.html
    some prices on the xeon's - so two of them would cost 4k.

    the mother board is about 300
    128gigs of ram? not sure. maybe 1200
    good graphcis card about $600 (titan for 2k)
    so this super system would run somewhere around 6000 or 7000 so?
    Last edited by vonpietro; 02-19-2015 at 02:00 AM.
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

  3. #33
    Sounds like the modern equivalent of what I have. If you do a lot of lighting, shading and rendering optimization and are not using a GPU renderer then that 24 core machine is awesome.
    It would render the benchmark marbles scene in around 25 minutes (opposed to 38 min on mine and 1h 10min with an i7 3930)

  4. #34
    if you settle for a 8 core xeon the price comes down alot

    only 25 minutes? with all those cores? wouldn't all those cores really speed up the rendering?
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

  5. #35
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Surely there's a well-known trade-off point for cores versus RAM etc.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  6. #36
    do you know what the trade off is? you can have 256 gigs of ram. =)
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

  7. #37
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Only theoretically: how many MBs will accept that much RAM? And how much does such a MB cost?

    This is, I hear, the kind of thing they teach in biz school: finding the mix of cores, ram, and infrastructure that will result in the most cycles for the least amount of cash.

    Or, in common parlance, 'most bang for the buck'.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  8. #38
    apparently the dd4 memory is way more.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...%29-_-20242018
    $230 for 16 gigs stick.
    my laptop ram was 150.
    difference was 16 gb stick vs 8gb stick -

    so 3648 bucks for 16 of those yielding 256 gigs total.
    so 1824 bucks for 128gigs with 8 16gb sticks. (maxed out on board)

    Supports DDR4 2133/1866/1600 LR DIMM, Rigistered, ECC DIMM and NVDIMM, total 16 x DIMM slot
    so this motherboard EP2C612D16FM takes the 16 gig sticks. max looks to be 128gigs.
    it costs about 300 bucks for the mother board.
    It clearly takes two cpus for a max of 24 cores.

    12 core xeon at 2.7ghz fastest one - 2600 bucks each.
    so we get a 24 physical cores 128 gig monster, throw in a $2000 titan z. and were off and running.
    cost is now something like - 10,000 for all top of the line stuff. Fastest xeons with 12 cores, fastest ram, and the super fast titan.

    How nice.
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

  9. #39
    I wish they were cheaper, as far as render farm goes you'd probably be better off with a few I7s
    instead but for workstation power it can't be beat.

    25 min was a "guesstimate" I have 16 cores so if they are about the same speed but were 24 that would be the time reduction, The new Xeons do have newer tech (bigger and faster cache etc.) so it might be faster per mhz and be down to 20-22 min on the benchmark scene, I'd be surprised if it was any faster than that tho.

  10. #40
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Render farm versus workstation are really two different tools. In a pinch, you don't even need the CASE (!!!), just the PS.

    vonpietro, thanks for doing that research, I think it clarifies the issues. A side by side comparison w/ cycles/dollar would really be swell.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  11. #41
    Registered User rdolishny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    313
    Or garagefarm for a few dollars.

  12. #42
    gettin all wavy rwhunt99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Osceola, IN
    Posts
    213
    my two cents : I use Tequila scream on my little render garden, and I've had no problems with it.

    it is free with no support or $299 with support. http://www.tequilascream.com/

  13. #43
    WOW , i did not know there were so many render controllers. Does someone have a definitive list of render controllers.
    I remember a guy at UFo Wrote one himself called chameleon i think. UFO films was using it, and it had alot of neat things in it.

    as to the super computer workstation class.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...%29-_-20239425
    here is a 32gig stick 1x- 578 bucks - you need 8 of them to make up 256gigs. $4624 just for the ram. 2300 if you want to buy now and upgrade later. (still using the 32gig sticks).

    Since the idea was best bang for the dollar - 32gig sticks are betting on future 256gb motherboards coming around. - just plop your ram in the new mother board.
    still. getting 2 6 cores instead of 2 12 cores gives you a 12 core monster. And with 128gigs thats 10.6 gigs per core.Pretty respectable.
    unless hyperthreading gets allocated ram as well then your down to 5.3 gigs per 12 physical cores and 12 hyperthreaded cores.
    anyone know if thats the case where ram gets divided between cores? hyperthreads, or is just a big ol pool of ram that gets accessed as needed? I have no idea how that works.

    --
    Xeon E5-2643 v2
    6 cores
    25 MB cache
    8 GT/s DDR3-1866 3.5 GHz
    130 W
    $1552 price - thats down from $2600 for the 12 core version.
    so 2 of those is 3100 with the expensive ram - $2300 its brought the price down to about 8000. with 12 less cores though. however its the fastest clock speed of 3.5 ghz - not bad. So cheaper alittle faster, better core per gigabyte ratio.
    someone who knows this stuff might be able to tell us if more cores is better or if optimal cores like 12 for 128gb is best.

    anyone going to make one of these things? =)
    all you have to do is refinance the house !!

    in the next few months those prices are sure to drop 5% to 15%
    Last edited by vonpietro; 02-20-2015 at 03:44 PM.
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

  14. #44
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,155
    Chameleon was pretty good. My friend Jim Perry wrote that. We used it in the Box at Rhythm & Hues for several years. That was quite a long time ago though and I don't know if Jim is still supporting it.

    These days I like BNR 5 and use it in my home studio. I've been using BNR since version 3, and it's what we were using in the Box before we closed shop. Occasionally, I run into problem with BNR when a new version of Lightwave is released but the developer has always been responsive about fixing things when they break.

    At the last studio I worked, I got to tinker around with Deadline. Most render controllers have a master program that runs on one computer but Deadline is interesting in that it runs independently on each computer on the network, and they all talk to each other. That's nice if you're concerned about the 'central' computer going down during a heavy render session.

    Long, long ago, I used Lightnet. That was a simple controller good for a small network. It's since become Lightnet Cloud (or something like that.) I have no experience with the new version.

    G.

  15. #45
    is jim perry the guy from UFO films?
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •