Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: LW 2015 FBX --> Unreal Engine

LW 2015 FBX --> Unreal Engine

Long time user, and just taking initial steps into game design.

I am curious to know if anyone knows the workflow yet of moving animation data between LW 2015 and Unreal? I've successfully imported models in LW11, but FBX support was lacking. Has LW2015 FBX update included support for moving animation data between LW and Unreal?

Please forgive me if this is obvious, I'm pretty new to Unreal.
    Video and Animation Auteur

Absolutely giddy!

Answered my own question, and it was profoundly simple. "export animation". Works beautifully!

Imported a rag doll from the 2015 samples, and the physics from the bones of the dolls is applied automatically!!!! I hit play in Unreal, and the rag dolls proceeded to fall down, like rag dolls.

LW3D Group - what have you done?!

Quote Originally Posted by Dillon View Post
    Long time user, and just taking initial steps into game design.

I am curious to know if anyone knows the workflow yet of moving animation data between LW 2015 and Unreal? I've successfully imported models in LW11, but FBX support was lacking. Has LW2015 FBX update included support for moving animation data between LW and Unreal?

Please forgive me if this is obvious, I'm pretty new to Unreal.

hmm so you say it is working! FBX export to UDK is working ..that is a very good news..!

I've taken a long break from doing anything serious in 3D, while watching the game engines becoming incredibly awesome. Then came Oculus and VR finally getting its bearings. I don't have the patience for learning a new 3D app, so I've been waiting and praying and hoping that LW3D Group would update FBX. Not only have they updated it, they did it incredibly. I need to know a LOT more about lightwave and Unreal now. I am so freaking excited!

Seriously! The rag dolls have their physics applied to them in Unreal! It's ... unreal!

Quote Originally Posted by tyrot View Post