Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: What to do?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Great State of Georgia
    Posts
    423

    What to do?

    I am attempting to drill. Most of the radial arms have been drilled but on one occasion I got the following message,
    "Unable to regenerate contour.
    This may be caused by highly non-planar polygons,
    Or by ambiguous overlap between polygon edges and the cutting tool.
    Triple non-planar polygons or add a small offset to data and try again."

    I am attaching an image showing the attempted drill with the message and another with the entire object.

    I'm not sure what the message means. Any help is appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Drill tool scene 1.jpg 
Views:	138 
Size:	300.5 KB 
ID:	123712   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Drill tool scene 2.jpg 
Views:	130 
Size:	302.3 KB 
ID:	123713  
    Enjoy Life, this is not a rehearsal!!!

  2. #2
    I usually see this error when trying to boolean subtract objects. The fix is usually to nudge either your cut object or your base objects a mm or 2 in any direction.

    In this case though, I don't think that's necessary. If I am understanding the picture correctly, I think you could probably just grab the cap polygons, bevel them (inset only, no shift), delete the inset polygons then manually bridge the resulting pieces.

    [edit] nevermind that last part, I stupidly didn't think about the intersection in the center. [edit]
    Last edited by meatycheesyboy; 08-18-2014 at 09:13 AM.
    -Joshua Jorgensen

  3. #3
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,733
    Your cutter object has a lot of geometry--- try reducing that.

    Is the interior intersection VISIBLE in the animation? If not, I'd do as mcb says above and just bevel the ends in.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  4. #4
    Super Member spherical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Juan Island
    Posts
    4,686
    I've gotten this a lot. Things to be aware of with Booleans:

    • You cannot cut through a point. Points are... points. They have no dimension, therefore, they cannot be split in two. This is what is behind meatycheezyboy's advice to nudge.
    • The error message can also be a result of cruft in the geometry. Be certain that both objects are sound. IOW, no holes, no coplanar polys, no overlapping polys, all polys correctly facing, etc.
    • Sometimes the Speed Booleans will work, where the original won't.
    Blown Glass · Carbon Fiber + Imagination

    Spherical Magic | We Build Cool Stuff!

    "When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade, without further introduction." - Mark Twain

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    S
    Posts
    3,511
    I agree with chuck, just bevel the ends. Drill is part of an oldish toolset i.e. LWCAD cuts into n-gons.

    Attachment 123733

  6. #6
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,733
    If the holes need to go all the way thru, making them BEFORE copying/rotating the bits around will be a lot easier.

    Unless you're doing some fancy stuff with the exterior chamfer.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  7. #7
    Professional amateur Amurrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    1,350
    Also, you can force polygons into being planar by tripling your polys. Sometimes just tripling your cutting object is enough.
    --Andrew
    Bono Animo Esto


    Intel Core i5 3570k
    nVidia GTX 970
    8GB DDR3 1333MHz
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  8. #8
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,014
    you can split your object into pieces and over each individually do your Boolean operations. it helps on the difficult, complex models.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •