Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Layout crashes, now won't launch

  1. #1
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732

    Question Layout crashes, now won't launch

    So, been playing with ClothFX (and hating it), and not very surprisingly Layout crashed.

    No biggy. Dismissed the (useless) bug reporter dialog and doubleclicked the Layout icon to relaunch it, but... no relaunch.

    I'm just about to reboot, but my question is:

    Is this likely to be a result of garbage left behind in the computer RAM due to the crash, or some weirdness of a file that was opened and never closed?


    In a related question: am I wasting my time futzing with ClothFX, in that is it actively supported/developed by LW3dG, or are all their energies going into Bullet?
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  2. #2
    Super Member spherical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Juan Island
    Posts
    4,686
    Whenever you get a crash, the memory pool should be considered to be corrupted or, at the very least, fragmented to general detriment.
    Blown Glass · Carbon Fiber + Imagination

    Spherical Magic | We Build Cool Stuff!

    "When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade, without further introduction." - Mark Twain

  3. #3
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,276
    No, you're not wasting time with ClothFX, it still does things that Bullet doesn't, and I find it really depends on the situation as to which I find fastest or more accurate. My docs on the Lightwiki should help you out with the old FX dynamics.
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    985
    Quote Originally Posted by spherical View Post
    Whenever you get a crash, the memory pool should be considered to be corrupted or, at the very least, fragmented to general detriment.
    so it's ideal to reboot after every crash?

  5. #5
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodgy View Post
    My docs on the Lightwiki should help you out with the old FX dynamics.
    Mike, I'm rummaging thru Lightwiki, are your docs in the LEARN section, under dynamics?

    (It's a very slow coffeeshop connection...)
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  6. #6
    Super Member spherical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Juan Island
    Posts
    4,686
    Quote Originally Posted by Sampei View Post
    so it's ideal to reboot after every crash?
    It's inevitable when an application crashes that it hasn't gracefully closed and cleaned up after itself. The amount of cruft left in memory, locks on files, etc., varies from situation to situation, as all crashes are not the same. So, yes, if you want to have the best chance of continuing unimpeded, reboot and get a fresh memory pool to work in. Otherwise, you're asking for more instability when, for instance, the system thinks that a certain memory range is available and actually isn't.
    Blown Glass · Carbon Fiber + Imagination

    Spherical Magic | We Build Cool Stuff!

    "When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade, without further introduction." - Mark Twain

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •