Thread: New here, would love your expertise

New here, would love your expertise

Hi everybody,

I'm fairly new to the world of broadcasting and thanks to these forums have come a loooooonng way (though, still pretty green) from when I was first hired for the A/V team at a museum, that holds all types of events (lectures, music performances, film screenings, etc.) We've only been broadcasting certain events online through UStream for a handful of months and are looking for ways to expand. Right now, we have a Tricaster 40 with two cameras (Panasonic HPX170 and HPX250) that ultimately are hooked up by way of component cables (the newer HPX250 uses a BM converter from SDI to component with BNC adapters). We've been researching several action-style cameras like the GoPro3 to possibly move around for more dynamic shots, and while wiring it is an option, it would likely limit the places we could put it.

From all the research, I think I sort of have an idea of how the wireless workflow might work, but I have several hangups.
    Since I'm pretty new to this, I'm hoping someone can A) tell me where I am completely wrong B) elaborate on things that my inexperience makes me incapable of understanding 3) suggestions, suggestions, suggestions. All I ask is that you bear with me.

1. If I were to buy one of the action cameras, say a GoPro3, and utilize it's wireless streaming feature, I would first have to stream to a laptop, THEN go to the Tricaster, correct? If so, would I be using the iVGA function on my Tricaster?

2. We haven't had to use iVGA just yet, but when I attempted to test it the other day, I had no luck. This is no doubt a result of the way our network is setup. I'll be scheduling a meeting with IT soon to help me better understand that side of things, but does anyone have an idea on the ideal settings needed to run iVGA well or know where I can educate myself on how/how well our cameras work on a network?