Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 42

Thread: Bullet not working with Mocap?

  1. #16
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    yep, LIFS way is how I do
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  2. #17
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,164
    It sound like your animation is importing and all your bones are animating properly, so it's gotta be the Bullet setup or something funny about 11.6.2. I still have 11.6.2 installed--I'll check it out here and let you know if I'm seeing the same issue.

    G.

  3. #18
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    Anims look exactly like they do in Motion Builder, so that's OK
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  4. #19
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    downloaded and installed 11.5.1
    same results
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  5. #20
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,164
    Okay, that may be good as it probably means it's a setup error and not a program error, meaning it should be fixable. I'm still at work but I'll take a look at your scene when I'm done here.

    G.

  6. #21
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    yea, 11.5.1 is looking like that vid I just uploaded from 11.6.2. Hair roots are staying put as they should, but rest of hair is forming the head and doing dynamics but not moving with heads. Testing continues here.
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  7. #22
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,513
    Both of these...
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    If all goes well, only the animation data from the FBX will be imported and applied directly to the skeleton of your Lightwave character. If you get the entire contents of the FBX instead, then something isn't matching between the two rigs.
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    The other 'gotcha' to watch for is the number of Takes in the FBX file. Lightwave expects to see only a single Take--if you have more than one in the file, you will probably not get the animation to import properly (I usually get a single frozen frame when this happens.)
    ...are examples of exceedingly poor UX and error handling.

    If there are problems, continuing to destructively modify the scene is about the worst possible "outcome case" the app could choose (where putting up an error dialog and staying at state prior to import would be reasonable handling for either). Further, in the >1 take issue scenario, LW could easily present the info for the various takes (which it already has handy), let the user choose which to import, and still successfully import. Instead, today, LW quietly soils itself curling up into fetal ball, in no way importing anything useful, but still destructively modifying the existing scene -- again, that verges on absolute worst-case behavior possible in that scenario.

    Frankly, it'd almost be better for the user if LW just crashed in such scenarios. At least then there'd be no chance the user might mistake what LW did for what it was supposed to do. Given how LW behaves now in either scenario, depending on scene, a user could mistakenly think the import properly occurred.
    Last edited by jwiede; 06-10-2014 at 08:33 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  8. #23
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,164
    I agree but it's what we have right now and you have to make the best of it. All I'm doing here is explaining what's happening 'under-the-hood' when the animation transfer doesn't work as expected. Normally, if you set things up correctly for Lightwave, mocap transfer does work flawlessly.

    I think what bothers me more about the LIFS MOME workflow is that, as far as I know, the above info is undocumented except here in the forums. I learned about these 'gotchas' from asking other users with more experience in working with mocap. I don't know if this info is in the latest manual release but if it isn't, it should be.

    G.

  9. #24
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    well, been from .1 to 10000 on all number fields in bullet panel...still hair forms head but does not follow head.
    ARGGGGGggg
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  10. #25
    Often Banned Megalodon2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    1,029
    Don't know if this'll help - it's in German.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbkJEDqFaDI

  11. #26
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    Don't know if this'll help
    Yea, mine does that too.
    Untill I put a FBX file to my girl.
    It never works so far when adding FBX on a Neveron Mocap rig.




    Have tried completly new wig...same results.

    Even tried to not "Make Rig" for Neveron Mocap and just did a "Cvt Skelegons" so I get the same named bones but no special stuff for Neveron. FBX transferred fine and animation same as in Motion Builder. But hair reacted same when FBX file brought in.
    Running out of options.
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  12. #27
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,513
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    I think what bothers me more about the LIFS MOME workflow is that, as far as I know, the above info is undocumented except here in the forums. I learned about these 'gotchas' from asking other users with more experience in working with mocap. I don't know if this info is in the latest manual release but if it isn't, it should be.
    Honestly, it'll take about as much effort to add error dialogs for these cases, as it would to add clear, understandable documentation of these misbehaviors into the manuals. I'd much rather they just add the error dialogs.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  13. #28
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,164
    Quote Originally Posted by prospector View Post
    Even tried to not "Make Rig" for Neveron Mocap and just did a "Cvt Skelegons" so I get the same named bones but no special stuff for Neveron. FBX transferred fine and animation same as in Motion Builder. But hair reacted same when FBX file brought in.
    Running out of options.
    That does sound strange, but to me it also sounds like your FBX is not the problem because the motion has apparently imported to Layout successfully. Beyond that, the data is just animated bones or joints, and Bullet really doesn't know nor should it care that the animation originated from an FBX--once the data has been transferred from the FBX to items in Layout, it's just normal keyframed Layout animation.

    BTW, I created a simple animated guides test this afternoon in 11.6.3 just to verify that what I wrote above is still correct--everything seems to be working the way I expected. I'll post the test tonight--maybe it will provide some insight.

    G.

  14. #29
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    Think I found problem, but not how to correct it.
    The collision object is not following main object when FBX is applied.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	collide.JPG 
Views:	75 
Size:	108.2 KB 
ID:	122263
    In the pic..
    The green face is part of the collision object for hair which is just an object of her that I figured would encompass any part of her that hair would come in contact with. Parented to her using her bones.

    the blue object is the actual collision shape that is (?) used to get collision data for hair penetration. (I think)
    When I turned them on to see them, this is what I saw. Not following collision object (the green object) that IS following girl as it should.
    This blue point cloud should match exactly the green collision object.

    This all works correctly when FBX not involved.

    Kinda hard to see points in head so did a 100% dissolve on hair.
    this is collision point cloudClick image for larger version. 

Name:	Dissolve.JPG 
Views:	34 
Size:	55.8 KB 
ID:	122264
    Last edited by prospector; 06-11-2014 at 07:25 AM.
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  15. #30
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    Tried another FBX...diving
    But this time there was no separate collision object..just using her.

    Again, the collision point cloud doesn't follow after FBX appliedClick image for larger version. 

Name:	FullBody.JPG 
Views:	48 
Size:	170.8 KB 
ID:	122265
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •