Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I have an idea. Updating scripts

I have an idea. Updating scripts

I have an idea and wondered how everyone else feels about this. Many of our much used tools from 3rd party developers have not been updated in some time, indeed many are no longer in development but are still used by many in the community to get things done. You know those handy little scripts that just make things easier or quicker.

I was wondering if any developers would be interested in releasing the code for these scripts that they feel they no longer have time to develop and let some others coders update/enhance or both.

I am not a coder myself but would really appreciate still being able to use some of these scripts that do not work or have errors due to SDK changes in the latest versions of LightWave.

I can think of a few that i really find useful even now, Cobbleclone is one, there was also a script for a simple 3 and 4 lighting setup.

What does everyone think of this, would you agree to do it as a developer.

Just thinking out loud.

Regards, John
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

LightWave 2019.03

Very nice Laptop

A list of what scripts don't work would be a good start. If the developer's contact info is on there then you could certainly reach out to them. Just listing what script is broken on the forum might not work as there's no guarantee they would see the forum post.

It'll ultimately be up to the developer if they want to release the source code.

Personally I try to keep my scripts uncompiled unless I have a strong reason not to.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

Agreed and of course we would need a link to the script, what or why it does not work in latest LW.