Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: lightwave to maya workflow

  1. #1
    Registered User octopus2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    the future
    Posts
    247

    lightwave to maya workflow

    is it possible to open a lightwave model in maya with the textures done in lightwave preserved?

    when i open a lightwave model inside maya, the model appears fine but the textures don't show.
    Last edited by octopus2000; 05-20-2014 at 06:48 PM. Reason: additional details

  2. #2
    Yes, I'd also like to see complete tutorials showing all the Maya-LW workflows, hint hint Newtek.

  3. #3
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,182
    Just curious but did you try FBX with textures enabled? I haven't tried that myself since I do nearly all my renders in LightWave (mostly I use FBX to xfer camera and animations only to other apps,) but FBX should preserve UV maps and basic textures.

    G.

  4. #4
    I just imported a LW model FBX into Maya and it looks like the normal maps from the Node set up didn't show up anywhere, but standard UV'ed textures using the surface layers came in. Of course you have to go in an smooth everything if it's a sub-D mesh but I was expecting that. There are several options for FBX on export from LW, and also several switches and what have you on import to Maya, that's why I'd like to see this thoroughly explained with best practice procedures, because LW3DG made a big deal of the integration into pipelines, I think we need a sticky on this subject as well.

    Greenlaw, I didn't see the textures enabled option, is that in LW or Maya?

  5. #5
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,182
    Sorry, I was kinda guessing. Lightwave has some FBX options you can enable/disable but for textures I might be thinking of Motion Builder, which has options to enable/disable pretty much anything in the scene.

  6. #6
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,182
    Okay, I just checked the FBX exporter in LightWave--if you look in the middle of the panel, you should see options for Materials and Embedded Textures.

    I guess it wasn't just in my imagination after all.

    G.

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Registered User octopus2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    the future
    Posts
    247
    where is this fbx options?

  9. #9
    Super Member Red_Oddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    A thousand years from here
    Posts
    3,352
    Those options only exist in the Layout exporter (gotta love Newtek's consistency when it comes to inconsistency)
    I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious. - Albert Einstein
    visit my company site : House of Secrets
    visit my personal site : svenneve.com

  10. #10
    Okay, I did that, everything came through except Maya doesn't seem to accept PSD file, is that right? Clip maps also probably will need to be re-applied and, well I've forgotten a lot of Maya so I'm having trouble hunting down the texture maps to see if the normals came with it. I really think we should have a permanent MAYA Lightwave interchange section somewhere on this forum.

  11. #11
    Registered User octopus2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    the future
    Posts
    247
    ok i went to layout and exported fbx from there. the texture still doesn't show in maya. i wonder if effects studios have an easy way of doing this.

  12. #12
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,182
    This is what I see when I use Export FBX in 11.6.2.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2014-05-21_101135.jpg 
Views:	157 
Size:	46.1 KB 
ID:	121968

    Are you using the current native FBX exporter or the old Autodesk version? The native version added all the bells and whistles, starting with version 10 I guess.

    G.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Ah, okay, so the first screen cap of the FBX dialog is from Modeler? I guess I never use that one.

  13. #13
    Registered User octopus2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    the future
    Posts
    247
    yes i did check that show embedded textures. there's no effect. i tried opening the model in cinema4d, 3dsmax, and modo. it seems it's only modo that's able to display the textures without any additional manipulation. when i try to export to fbx from modo and open it in maya the texture doesn't show as well. i think i give up, i just downloaded some maya tutorials from youtube. i'll just do the texturing in maya itself.

  14. #14
    Did you have any luck with this?

    I'm needing to transfer some files with textures and morphs (still using LW 11.03 at the moment) so was wondering how good the new update to fbx is.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks

    Kev xx

  15. #15
    Well I found the window that Greenlaw posted above in LW11.03!!!

    I gave it a go and experience an immediate crash

    But then having turned off all textures I could export an fbx with morphs. But when importing this into Modo the morphs are completely messed up!

    Turning on the 'Materials' check box for any export = crash

    Whatever FBX version or ASCII or Binary I do get to work, my UVs and textures don't carry across and the morphs are all messed up.

    Until I get Maya installed I can't test there, so I guess it could be importing into Modo that is not working for me, but this FBX export pretty useless for me so far

    Anyone get this working?

    Kev xx

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •