Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 41 of 41

Thread: Merging points problem

  1. #31
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732

    Lightbulb ffx feature request suggestions

    This discussion is just fraught with ideas for Feature Requests (FReqs).

    Immediately, the auto-creation of Point Sets leaps out at me. Most obviously the roots, but I imagine a case could be made for the body and the tips as separate Point Sets, plus everything (roots, body, tip). IE:

    Point Set name suffix=[_____________]
    [_] Make Roots Point Set ("suffix"+"-root")
    [_] Make Tip Point Set ("suffix"+ "-tip")
    [_] Make Body Point Set (all minus Tip+Root, "suffix"+"-body")
    [_] Make all Point Set ("suffix")

    And of course the central one: making the generated fibers part of the endomorphs.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  2. #32
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    Okay, we're all freakin' idiots !!

    Use Strandmaker.... then transfer the morph(s) from your splines with Transfer Any Vmap found here ('bout a third the way down the page).

    For Christmas sake....


    Edit: Make sure you're on base level when u do it. U can transfer them all at the same time too.
    Last edited by JoePoe; 03-01-2014 at 01:57 PM.
    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

  3. #33
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    that looks like just the puppy I need..Will try now.
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  4. #34
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    Quote Originally Posted by prospector View Post
    that looks like just the puppy I need...
    woof.

    The native Background to Morph was also staring us in the face.... but that's a one at a time deal.
    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

  5. #35
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    I admit I'm a bit fuzzy on how the different solutions work...
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  6. #36
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    Although, it works perfectly

    There is something wrong now.

    It's too easy with that LScript so now I have too much time to have coffee and have a ciggy....
    I was able to schedule a 4 hour time period where nothing but welding points were done...and now.....how do I fill up those 4 hours...? Hmmmm


    Thanks for that plugin tip JoePoe
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  7. #37
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    HAHa!

    My pleasure.
    I knew a solution (even the one before the last plug) was going to save you hours and hours!!
    What did we shrink it down to? 30 seconds?? (you don't have to answer... I already know )

    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

  8. #38
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    Quote Originally Posted by jeric_synergy View Post
    I admit I'm a bit fuzzy on how the different solutions work...
    Hey Jeric - sorry, missed your post in the middle there.

    So, as I'm sure you realize, the "problem" in the end was not the one stated in the title of the original post.
    Merging points from the Strandmaker fibers back onto splines with existing morphs wasn't gonna happen (as far as I know).

    The actual problem was that Strandmaker wasn't respecting existing morphs already on the splines at the time of... "strandmaking".
    (apologies if I'm stating the obvious)

    (in order to come up with solutions we need to know what strandmaker was doing..... converting splines to 2point chains, adding a root 1point poly to each chain and adding a weight map.)
    Solutions:
    1a) Do it all yourself in batch processes. Toggle splines to 2point chains, add 1point polys at roots (picked out of all the points by a couple of group deselects), add a weight map with Weight Outward (or some other method).
    1b) Do most of it yourself. Toggle splines to 2point chains, add 1point polys, use Strandmaker to generate the weight map in another layer and transfer that to what you just made.
    Both methods would take just a couple minutes.

    2) Use Strandmaker and then transfer all the weight maps from the original splines to the new chains using the plug above... in one shot.
    Last edited by JoePoe; 03-04-2014 at 04:34 PM.
    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

  9. #39
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    oops
    Last edited by prospector; 03-05-2014 at 01:42 PM.
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  10. #40
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    Not weightmaps....the morphs.
    Strandmaker DOES make weightmaps.


    (My return in red)
    (in order to come up with solutions we need to know what strandmaker was doing..... converting splines to 2point chains, adding a root 1point poly to each chain and adding a weight map. But not Morphs)
    1a) Do it all yourself in batch processes. Toggle splines to 2point chains, add 1point polys at roots (picked out of all the points by a couple of group deselects), add a weight map with Weight Outward (or some other method).
    1b) Do most of it yourself. Toggle splines to 2point chains, add 1point polys, use Strandmaker to generate the weight map in another layer and transfer that to what you just made.
    Both methods would take just a couple minutes.
    Niether work with Morphs as the points of the Splines have to actually be welded to polystrand maker results MANUALLY AS THEY WON'T MERGE...and then new endomorph made for each morph by selecting the new morph from the "new endomorph" button. It then copies over morph and when completely done with ALL morphs, you can then delete the splines and polystrands WILL have the morphs attached.
    Last edited by prospector; 03-05-2014 at 01:44 PM.
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  11. #41
    it's a manhole cover ↓ JoePoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    LISA
    Posts
    1,969
    Quote Originally Posted by prospector View Post
    Not weightmaps....the morphs.
    Strandmaker DOES make weightmaps.
    ....in #2. Quite right. My bad..... typo .

    But in #1 a and b. The Toggle to 2 point chain plug does respect morphs. No welding involved.
    Last edited by JoePoe; 03-05-2014 at 04:16 PM.
    System Specs: A pile of sand, a couple of wires, a real live mouse and a beer.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •