Thread: Considering Making a Transformation Scene

Considering Making a Transformation Scene

First, again, I am a newbie in Lightwave. I know enough that there ways to morph an object into another in Layout or even using morphs. What I want to ask is how could I handle transformations so that it's animated and changed from one object to another. Example would be like human to werewolf.

I am considering making a transformation scene, right now of a character of mine (not modeled yet) who's an anthropomorphic animal turning into its feral state. Example say a dog person turning into a dog animal. It does wear clothing, so how can I handle that, in terms of it keeps its clothing during the animation? In the future, I want to tackle on transformations involving tearing of flesh.

Thank you for reading.

Morphing in "LightWave" uses "Morph Maps" ("Modeler"). Basically it means that your object remains the same from the beginning at the end, moving points and completely linearly. So it's possible but to keep it simple you can separate your character into several elements, and create a maximum of steps through the "Morph Maps". Don't forget that it's moving points, so you can mix it with other tools in the Layout and not only use the "Morph Mixer" ("Layout").

Okay, I see. So it would be possible to create morph maps of the object in steps. Would that mean I create morph maps that continue off the last one, or create a morph to a certain point where it would morph into another model and that model continues the transformation? Also, when the morphing is complete, how would I animate the character? Would I have to make another model of the completed transformation?

You can do the 2 but the best is to use a single object and many "Morph Maps". It's simpler and it avoids any problem with the "UV Map" and textures.

There are 2 videos of Larry Shultz on Liberty 3D.
    Displacements And Endomorphs Vol. 1 & 2 :
    http://www.liberty3d.com/citizens/la...larrys-videos/