Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Spine Control feature request: Absolute mode

  1. #1
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338

    Spine Control feature request: Absolute mode

    Anyone with AE and uses VideoCoPilots SureTarget will appreciate this one!

    I'd like to see an Absolute option for Spline Control added. When selected the Z-axis, rather than being the Spline Distance instead it becomes Spline Targets. Using the GE, for example, animating from 0 to 3 would take you the the exact co-ordinaries of your goal spline along its path.

    I posted about this recently and have since has a few projects where this would have been of great benefit. A precise Camera placement was required at the end if some long paths but every time the spline path was tweaked it threw out the alignment. Being able to animate to absolute co-ords/spline nulls would have been great.

  2. #2
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338
    To flesh out my thoughts, I've illustrated what I'd like to see, attached.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	splineAbsolute.png 
Views:	80 
Size:	151.5 KB 
ID:	119242

  3. #3
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    ???? You mean, rather than a DISTANCE, you want it to go to a NODE?

    :rubs chin: Interesssssting...... That's a VERY intriguing idea. I hope Celshader sees this, since she seems to have a lot of input/connection to Spline Control.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  4. #4
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338
    Spline Node! That was the word I was after !

    Yes, thats exactly it. Would be very handy jumping from one setup to another within a scene without changes having knock-on effects further down the Spline path.

  5. #5
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    I think it's a very powerful, yet easy-to-grasp idea. I hope LW3dG implements it.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  6. #6
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,117
    This would be a great feature. Did you put this in the bug reporting system? https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.asp. I am not sure that the powers that be in the LW3D group are paying attention here.

  7. #7
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338
    Cheers lertola2. I'd love to see this so submitted it at the same time!

  8. #8
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338
    I can see that the Graph Editor approach may have to change a little. If the nodes aren't evenly spaced then you will get speed up/downs which would mean you may as well just keyframe your item. The feature request still stands, though, just needs a method of smoothly animating through the nodes.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •