Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: render farm

render farm

Hi all
    I'm new to all this but I'm considering investing on a small render farm. So I thought I'd ask all of you about your ideas.
    Any brands I should consider? I'm looking at cubix as we speak and it looks interesting.
    Thanks

Isn't cubix a gpu rendering box? That would be useless for the lightwave render engine since it's a cpu renderer.
    Building your render nodes yourself is cheaper. You can get really cheap and fast amd cpu's. If money isn't a problem I would get me some dual xeon's in a 2U server box.

You might find it more cost effective, in both terms of your time and money, to use GarageFarm (http://garagefarm.net/).

Nowadays, I use GarageFarm for most of my medium to large render jobs and they have proven to be outstanding value for money and provide excellent customer support. A few years ago I put a lot of effort into setting up my own small render farm, but to be honest, its maintenance proved to be just not cost effective when GarageFarm are so cheap and have orders of magnitude more processing power than I'd ever hope to have!

Regards,
    Peter
    iemedia solutions:
    Web Site
    YouTube Channel
    Scavengers SciFi novel:
    Amazon UK
    Amazon USA

Thanks guys. Much appreciated :-)

Have you got 2 PCs?

If so get those going first. The first 2 PCs are a pain in the neck but after that its relatively easy!

Also_do_all_your_file-names-have-no-gaps-in_in_their_names_?

If you have to buy another computer get a bare bone box with something along the line of 4770. You just need enough ram, forget everything else. Once set up & if you use remote desktop you can remove the graphics card to to reduce electricity consumption. Or go for a better box & relegate your old box to the farm.
    Procrastination, mankind's greatest labour saving device!

W5580 x 2 24GB, Mac Mini, Spyder3Elite, Dulux 30gg 83/006 72/008 grey room,
    XeroxC2255, UPS EvolutionS 3kw+2xEXB