Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Wire Bundle Along Path

  1. #1
    Kamehameha Chameleon BigHache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Future Past Life
    Posts
    1,899

    Wire Bundle Along Path

    Hoping someone can help me automate this modeling process a tad.

    So I have this bundle of wires that has been rail extruded. Pretty straight-forward. I would like to put a spin on the bundle along the path. I'm hoping there's a better way to do this than modeling the bundle straight, then apply the spiral, then modify that bundle to my curve. Any suggestions?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wire.PNG 
Views:	140 
Size:	38.2 KB 
ID:	117994

  2. #2
    Use the same curve used in the rail extrusion process to create skelegons... got o layout and convert skelegons to bones, rotate the bones... save transformed and load back into modeler. shouldnt take but a couple minutes to get teh result you're after.

  3. #3
    Kamehameha Chameleon BigHache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Future Past Life
    Posts
    1,899
    Brilliant, thank you. That should do it!

  4. #4
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    You could also keep your wire bundle as a rig instead of save transforming it out. This way if you have to modify it you just adjust your rig setup.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  5. #5
    da what? daforum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    1,675
    There's also bryphi77's "motion info extrude" tutorial that does something similar to what you want.

    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_WV7ApjIsh0

    Hope it helps
    Montage Reel, Portfolio, PIN_01, Prime......«« go on, click on a link!

  6. #6
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,890
    Unless youré not supposed to animate it, and model is only what you want?

    I would use px_bezier, free plugin...check erikals youtube clip on how to twist a cord, if that is something close to what you want?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVK5q2jVUwc

    The plugin...
    https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/p...try/px_bezier/

    Michael

  7. #7
    Super Member Hieron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,685
    Consider using DP Spline Transform

    It is awesome, interactive, Layout based and can be built upon. Reverse engineering a specific path may be a pain though, the question is whether that path is needed exact as it is..

    I'm no fan of locking stuff into position in modeler when interactivity can be kept in Layout.

  8. #8
    Kamehameha Chameleon BigHache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Future Past Life
    Posts
    1,899
    Thanks for all the helpful suggestions. I'll def give more of these a go tomorrow at work. Nothing in the model is locked, just looking for an effective way to knock out a shot and expand my skillset.

  9. #9
    Super Member SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    477
    Also doesn't LWCad have something that would allow you to twist as it extrudes? I dont' have LW on this machine so I can't find the exact name of it (sorry).
    Somewhere between the Darkness and the Light

  10. #10
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    If LWCAD doesn't, which I'd be surprised if it didn't, there's Rope Editor.

    http://www.next4d.com/
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  11. #11
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,727
    It would entail a lot of back and forth, but doesn't PATH EXTRUDE allow this....YES. Attached is a screenie of a five disk object extruded using a (sloppy) Camera path.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wireTwist.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	63.2 KB 
ID:	118028
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  12. #12
    Stuck in a very big cube Waves of light's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    2,500
    You can set up a LWCAD spline and then use Profiler to extrude along the spline. Then selecting any point along your spline, rotate to twist the profile.

    This also allows you to keep the original spline, should you want to add in a secondary wire or profile.



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Profile_LWCAD.jpg 
Views:	265 
Size:	117.6 KB 
ID:	118029

    EDIT: Sorry, edited this bit out as it was a bit misleading. I don't think you can save multiple shapes as profiles (e.g. 6 circles in your case - starting points for the wire ends).
    Last edited by Waves of light; 11-07-2013 at 02:49 AM.


    Systen Spec: i7 4930k (OC @4.5ghz),ASUS p9x79 MB, 32GB Ballistix RAM, H60 cooling, Samsung SSD 120GB, WD 1TB

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by Hieron View Post
    Consider using DP Spline Transform

    It is awesome, interactive, Layout based and can be built upon. Reverse engineering a specific path may be a pain though, the question is whether that path is needed exact as it is..

    I'm no fan of locking stuff into position in modeler when interactivity can be kept in Layout.
    +1 the more 'modeling' you can do in layout the better...

    this is a pretty good summary of what it can do


  14. #14
    Dreamer Ztreem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,131
    You can also use Magicbevel for this.

  15. #15
    Registered User zardoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,819
    for this I would use Hair blade (http://d-creation.sakura.ne.jp/plugin_latest.htm )...you create a profile in modeler, in this case a few circles, then draw the curve with any curve tool, and apply the hair blade. you can edit all the points in the curve, twist, scale, etc. and it's always editable. When you want to render you simply freeze the curve and it even makes uvs for you.
    Last edited by zardoz; 11-07-2013 at 07:54 AM. Reason: fixing the url
    Intel Core i7-4770 @3.40GHz,GeForce GTX 660 - Ram 8Gb - Win 8.1 64b

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •