Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: I wanted an amiga....but not anymore

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Augusta, GA(usa)
    Posts
    571

    I wanted an amiga....but not anymore

    Dear Friends:

    I really, really wanted to get an amiga computer with lightwave, just for fun.
    But yesterday, while perusing an old lw magazine (lightwave pro) I found a beautiful
    picture -still image-which took 44 minutes to render on an amiga 4000.
    44 minutes for a still image !!!
    Needless to say, I do not want an amiga anymore.I am so happy with my pc pentium
    machine, and very grateful for the pc rendering time.
    -Mobilis In Mobile-

  2. #2
    Super Member COBRASoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oudenburg, BEL
    Posts
    3,179
    44 mins? I waited once 12 hours for 3 point lights with lens flares on my 1260 . The result was magical!

  3. #3
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    One can still wind up with 44 minute renders. Hopefully they're a little more involved.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  4. #4
    Registered User ivanze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    South America
    Posts
    622
    Amiga 1000, Sculpt 4D, 320 x 240 res, the usual glass sphere with checkered floor. It took like 12 hours to render. Hmm, I'm old. :/

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by rednova View Post
    ...I am so happy with my pc pentium machine, and very grateful for the pc rendering time.
    i hope that is not the pentium, the first one, from 1993...
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  6. #6
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,613
    *pfft* I've recently had a 22 hour render (4K) for a mate. Yes, one image.

    And that's on 16 Cores.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  7. #7
    Super Member sublimationman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, CA
    Posts
    517
    I often do 4-12 hour renders with 8 cores. It's just all about the image.

  8. #8
    Super Member JonW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    2,235
    My longest was approximately 60 hours. I divided up the image into 4 sections of about 15 hours each to render. On AMD Athlon 1800 MP (Dual CPU).

    Just the other day on my ancient W5580 box (3.2 GHz x 4 x 2 CPUs) 8h 06m for an A3 300dpi size render. I was quite happy with the time. But I would like a new box with a pair of E5-2697 v2 CPUs (2.7 GHz x 12 x 2 CPUs) Then I should be able to scrap in under 3 hours with a bit of luck!
    Procrastination, mankind's greatest labour saving device!

    W5580 x 2 24GB, Mac Mini, Spyder3Elite, Dulux 30gg 83/006 72/008 grey room,
    XeroxC2255, UPS EvolutionS 3kw+2xEXB

  9. #9
    Registered User cyroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Marseille
    Posts
    79
    Yep, I used to wait for 12+ hours on my 1200 + blizzard 1230... 44 mins are ok imo, but I'd really like to see this image....

  10. #10
    Heffalump
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Away
    Posts
    3,897
    I had one frame take 39 days at one point on a 2 GHz C2D. The other frames in the animation were all done in ~1-4 hours each and I was just waiting for this one. Since LWSN in mode II doesn't offer any kind of ETA, it was the usual 'any second now' waiting game. I bodged it in the end just to wrap the animation, but left the process running out of curiosity.

    39 days. At that point I started really wanting progressive rendering in LWSN.
    Inactive.

  11. #11
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,855
    I rendered part of my Final Major Project at Uni on my A1200 with a 50Mhz '030 + 68882 FPU (and 4MB of RAM), using Lightwave 3.0. It was an animation for a fake "War of the worlds" trailer, with a spacey opening, going past the moon and into the earth. Rendered at 320*240, about 500frames - with no raytraced shadows, took about 2 days.

    Youngsters today have no idea how lucky they are

    edit: here's some stills from it: http://www.digitaldistortion.net/item_wotw.htm - the trailer itself is lost to the sands of time
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  12. #12
    Registered User hazmat777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    616
    If it's just for fun, I'd like to try this project sometime...

    http://www.maximumpc.com/article/how...n_commodore_64
    "I don't have it... you want half my omelette?"

  13. #13
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,900
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf View Post
    *pfft* I've recently had a 22 hour render (4K) for a mate. Yes, one image.
    *pfff* ^3
    I rendered this 16000x9333 whole week (>160h), if I recall correctly..
    http://www2.trueart.pl/Products/Plug...16000_9333.jpg
    using VirtualRender
    http://www2.trueart.pl/?URIType=Dire.../VirtualRender
    on Core i7 8 HT
    That's 150 Megapixel image..
    Good that render can be break and restarted. Did it couple times for a few minutes in the middle.
    Last edited by Sensei; 09-25-2013 at 11:09 AM.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    *pfff* ^3
    I rendered this 16000x9333 whole week (>160h), if I recall correctly..
    http://www2.trueart.pl/Products/Plug...16000_9333.jpg
    using VirtualRender
    http://www2.trueart.pl/?URIType=Dire.../VirtualRender
    on Core i7 8 HT
    That's 150 Megapixel image..
    Good that render can be break and restarted. Did it couple times for a few minutes in the middle.
    Jeez. This took 44 minutes just to download!
    (not really)

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    50
    I started with Sculp3D on a 68k MAC...
    running software and looking at the screen...
    Starting in the upper left corner..... ONE PIXEL! ... waiting ... nothing happens ... cancelt that.!
    Try it again .... same procedure (as every year miss Sophie?)

    It takes me hours to recognize... next pixel was rendert minutes later

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •