Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 137

Thread: Nevron Motion

  1. #91
    I think i got it now thanks for all the help. A pro tip: Add plugins after installing the Runtime

  2. #92
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25
    I installed both, SDK and Developer toolkit for my Kinect for Windows device as I had previously problems with the Runtime-only Software. Now, all works fine with Lightwave and the Kinect device.

    Can anyone please tell me how to bind a Nevron skeleton to a character mesh after adjusting it ?

  3. #93
    After reading the last few comments, I decided to go ahead and buy Nevron Motion even though I don't have a Kinect.

    However, there is one thing that I wasn't expecting. I found that after I installed the plugin and registered it, etc., that upon launching LW 11.6, i would get an Missing File Error of "Kinect10.dll not found". I realize that this may be because I don't have a Kinect device [or the runtime?] . To stop the error I had to remove the KinectForWindows plugin from the plugins folder.

    I do have a question though - I thought there was supposed to be a character included with the purchase - or am I wrong? It would be nice to be able to immediately see it used with a character - even the one shown at Siggraph.

  4. #94
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496
    Dont know where else to put this, but Performances->Clear crashes every time (Win7)

  5. #95
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496
    Also..., still cant figure out how to record. Enabled Allow Rec and Allow play, pressed play in the main Layout timeline, but when I go back nothing happens.

  6. #96
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,137
    Try using the one shot option. Then disable allow record and press play on the timeline.

    Basic steps I've been doing:

    • After confirming the skeleton is moving, enable allow record, one shot.
    • Press play on timeline and record your thing.
    • Disable allow record and press play on timeline again.
    Last edited by stevecullum; 07-27-2013 at 05:23 PM.
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  7. #97
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496
    Got it !! Thanks.
    I would never have thought of turning off allow record, but when I think about it I suppose it makes sense. The one shot thing seems important for first time/track recording.

    To anyone on the fence about this, if you already have lightwave and a kinect (xbox or windows), for $199 its a whole lot of fun....and I haven't even got to the retargetting part yet

  8. #98
    Often Banned Megalodon2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    1,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Tranimatronic View Post
    ....and I haven't even got to the retargetting part yet
    The retargeting part is the ONLY thing I'm interested in. I have no intention of getting a Kinect since we've already got an Optitrack system.

    For those who've tried it, how well does the retargeting work?

  9. #99
    Perfectly.
    Don't have a Kinect (Edit:, not connect) but have fbx and bvh files from a time with MB.

    It works, once you add the proper suffix.

    Rocks.

  10. #100
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,137
    Has anyone tried using the mocap files that ship with Nevron? I loaded in the BVH ones and found the scaling was huge. Tried fiddling about the the import scale option, but it's a faff trying to get the right setting. Anyone have a better way?
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  11. #101
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,893
    You can select the hips of the imported bvh and globally scale the rig.

  12. #102
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesCurtis View Post
    After reading the last few comments, I decided to go ahead and buy Nevron Motion even though I don't have a Kinect.

    However, there is one thing that I wasn't expecting. I found that after I installed the plugin and registered it, etc., that upon launching LW 11.6, i would get an Missing File Error of "Kinect10.dll not found". I realize that this may be because I don't have a Kinect device [or the runtime?] . To stop the error I had to remove the KinectForWindows plugin from the plugins folder.

    I do have a question though - I thought there was supposed to be a character included with the purchase - or am I wrong? It would be nice to be able to immediately see it used with a character - even the one shown at Siggraph.
    That sounds as if you need the Microsoft drivers - the 1.7
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/kinec...downloads.aspx

    Then you should be more happy

  13. #103
    Often Banned Megalodon2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    1,042
    Quote Originally Posted by UnCommonGrafx View Post
    Perfectly.
    Don't have a Kinect (Edit:, not connect) but have fbx and bvh files from a time with MB.

    It works, once you add the proper suffix.

    Rocks.
    Excellent!

    Looks like there's another sale.

  14. #104
    I'm running LW 11.6 on a Windows Vista machine. Can the Kinect still work on it? The notes on the provided link don't mention Vista.

  15. #105
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,137
    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainMarlowe View Post
    You can select the hips of the imported bvh and globally scale the rig.
    Mmm...it tried that and the bones disappeared off the screen. I'll have another attempt - cheers!
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •