Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Flocking avoid mesh does nothing

  1. #1
    Not So Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    25

    Flocking avoid mesh does nothing

    Hi there,

    I'm trying to have the flock arrive at an arrive goal which looks perfect, except I want it to avoid a mesh object on the way.
    It appears as though the avoid mesh feature doesn't work at all!! It goes right through everytime
    What am I doing wrong???

  2. #2

    not sure, maybe share scene.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LW Facebook   IKBooster   My vidz

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    281
    Try increasing the strength - like 10 times ...

  4. #4
    Not So Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    25
    Hey here is the scene file. With a simple 1 multi-layer objectFlocking.rar

    cheers.

    - - - Updated - - -

    ...and the grammar I used makes no sense, but I think you get it...
    Quote Originally Posted by Grazby View Post
    Hey here is the scene file. With a simple 1 multi-layer objectFlocking.rar

    cheers.

  5. #5
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,171
    Quote Originally Posted by Grazby View Post
    Hey here is the scene file. With a simple 1 multi-layer objectFlocking.rar

    cheers.

    - - - Updated - - -

    ...and the grammar I used makes no sense, but I think you get it...
    Thanks, we'll look into this.
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  6. #6
    can't.. re.. member stib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    [0,0,0]
    Posts
    963

    Same here

    I can confirm. Flocking seems fairly broken in LW11.6 on the mac. Lots of bugs, including this one.

    Here's my test scene; it's a bit simpler, a default generator and default goal with a mesh object in between. Same deal, flock completely ignores the avoid mesh, even with the strength turned up to lots.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 2.55.25 PM.png 
Views:	84 
Size:	100.5 KB 
ID:	116982
    flock test.zip
    2×Xeon 6140×18 cores×@2.3GHz, 96Gb Ram 2×Quadro p5000
    nerdiness and free stuff at my blob

  7. #7
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,171
    Quote Originally Posted by stib View Post
    I can confirm. Flocking seems fairly broken in LW11.6 on the mac. Lots of bugs, including this one.

    Here's my test scene; it's a bit simpler, a default generator and default goal with a mesh object in between. Same deal, flock completely ignores the avoid mesh, even with the strength turned up to lots.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 2.55.25 PM.png 
Views:	84 
Size:	100.5 KB 
ID:	116982
    flock test.zip
    Thank you!
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  8. #8
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,171
    Quote Originally Posted by stib View Post
    I can confirm. Flocking seems fairly broken in LW11.6 on the mac. Lots of bugs, including this one.

    Here's my test scene; it's a bit simpler, a default generator and default goal with a mesh object in between. Same deal, flock completely ignores the avoid mesh, even with the strength turned up to lots.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 2.55.25 PM.png 
Views:	84 
Size:	100.5 KB 
ID:	116982
    flock test.zip
    The attached zip had no files inside it... can you please resend?
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  9. #9
    can't.. re.. member stib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    [0,0,0]
    Posts
    963
    Here y'are
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by stib; 09-11-2013 at 09:45 PM.
    2×Xeon 6140×18 cores×@2.3GHz, 96Gb Ram 2×Quadro p5000
    nerdiness and free stuff at my blob

  10. #10
    Super Member inkpen3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    amersham, Buckinghamshire, UK
    Posts
    776
    Just in case you or any others hit the same problem, I raised a Fogbugz report (https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.a...2l0adfa65qeecf) regarding the fact that it is impossible to prevent a flock from penetrating the volume defined by the mesh of a Director Type = Arrive. Further details in the above report.

    Regards,
    Peter
    iemedia solutions:
    Web Site
    YouTube Channel
    Scavengers SciFi novel:
    Amazon UK
    Amazon USA

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •