Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: OT: forums.newtek.com server unresponsive

  1. #1
    gold plated 3D Chrusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chatannooga, TN
    Posts
    1,080

    OT: forums.newtek.com server unresponsive

    This has been bugging me ever since NT made the massive change to their web site and forums...

    forums.newtek.com routinely and randomly goes unresponsive for a full and literal 130 to 150 seconds. Web browser (any and all of them) status says, "waiting for forums.newtek.com..." for that length of time. Doesn't matter where I'm at in the forum or what link or button I've clicked. I've even had it happen literally seconds after paging thru a topic... the server just stops dead upon clicking the next page or next button/link. Over 2 minutes later, bam, next page and all will be fine as I continue clicking on other links, topics, threads, options, etc.

    No, it's NOT my 50 Mbit fiber-to-home ISP (smart grid electric power board - not cable) or any thing having to do with my home network/routers/firewall, etc.

    Anyone else experiencing this and know why?
    Last edited by Chrusion; 06-19-2013 at 09:41 PM.
    Dean A. Scott, mfa
    Senior 3D Animator and Graphic Design Illustrator, @ Astec, Inc.
    Owner / Lead Artist @ chrusion | FX

  2. #2
    Vacant, pretty vacant pinkmouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,701
    No problems here in Blighty. Does it happen at a particular time of day? If so, it might be the auto backup/database management stuff of vB kicking in and slowing response down. Our site owner and techie, Jason, over at diyAudio has spent days fine tuning stuff to avoid that sort of thing. The out-of-the-box default setup is nowhere near optimised.
    Last edited by pinkmouse; 06-20-2013 at 02:32 AM.

  3. #3
    Around 10:50 today I had it unresponsive. Hopefully is not the hourly bug again :/

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Godshill, Isle of Wight. United Kingdom
    Posts
    572
    Yep, it's been freezing quite a lot here lately mostly around 5mins either side of the hour but I have noticed at other times to. Quite irritating.....

    Dave

  5. #5
    Registered User GoatDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92
    For me it's 20 after the hour. Can go away for 5 minutes or so...

  6. #6
    gold plated 3D Chrusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chatannooga, TN
    Posts
    1,080
    Glad I'm not alone! Thought for sure someone would have posted about it by now.

    Database backup sounds plausible. I never looked at the time to see if there was a pattern.

    NewTek? Are you reading/listening?
    Dean A. Scott, mfa
    Senior 3D Animator and Graphic Design Illustrator, @ Astec, Inc.
    Owner / Lead Artist @ chrusion | FX

  7. #7

    DB backup is always done during weekends, might be what's causing it...
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •