Thread: Cast Ray test - noob Q

Cast Ray test - noob Q

I'm not experienced with the ray casting sort of nodes, but would like to be... so here's a quick Q for a project I'm working on now:

I need to cast a ray in a specific direction that simply reports back if it hit something, or didn't (i.e. hits the background). How?

The application is a rain/wetness shader that is currently slope-based; it currently "wets" all surfaces facing up, including those that are under something that should keep it from getting wet.

I can think of several ways to do this conceptually, including the use of a raytraced light where we test for the surfaces that it hits; the shadows would take care of the areas that are covered by other areas. (I'd like this one because I could then use a dome/area light to feather the "wet" areas). But how it works, no ideas.

Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Teh ray trace node could help you out here... lets you "project" the surface of one object onto another (thus u could create a "sky" poly, and trace from it to the ground)... or ray cast, which fires off rays and reports 1 if it hits something, or 0 if it doesnt. Either of these would let you create a "mask" for your ground surface based on tracing... and as for blurring, you couls further use this mask to mask in/out a procedural to give you broken up edges... or additionally use the DP blue node, etc, etc.

If you're sued to how the whole nodal system works... just have a play around, and try em out... their use should reveal itself quickly enough with a bit of experimentation.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

TrueArt Support
    RayCast and RayTrace return distance (Length output) from Ray Origin in Ray Direction (both node parameters) to geometry that has been hit, which can be any value between 0.0 and infinity.