Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Gradient/texture question

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    78

    Gradient/texture question

    I was wondering...when I make a terrain like a mountain range with lots of peaks n valleys and I want to have a texture like Turbulence cover the whole thing but at the base I want it to be like a green and as it gets higher I want it to fade to a brown say...how would I go about that? I tried using a gradient but it didn't work...

  2. #2
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  3. #3
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,960
    Thatīs the y-distance to gradient, or pivot point, and only works with gradients, not procedurals.
    you should probably use the node editor and try do it from there, and maybe use weightmaps ..so you can airbrush your areas or something like that, I havenīt got any good explanation for that now though.
    Boy how nice it would be to simply paint weight maps...In layout and connect respective texture, or procedural layer to those instantly...workflow baby.

    One thing you can do..that is to use two procedural layers and set one of them to a y-falloff of aprox 30m + value, on the other you can set a y falloff of -30 but that requires to tweak the textures
    y position too.

    I will post a sample scene to check out.
    I just noticed that for the color channel, the y-gradient donīt show up in vpr or render..in openGL it looks as you would expect..Weird, maybe a bug.

  4. #4
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,960
    hereīs a sample setup, forget about the y-gradient to object in the color channel, looks like itīs some sort of bug and not working in renderer.

    I have set the procedurals with some falloffs so check that tab, and also the position for one of the procedurals with a + value in combination with a negative y falloff

    Michael
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    78
    thanx for you quick response...I'll download the tut and see..there must be a way to control the position of color on an object such as a MTN range...here's an attempt I made using ur advise
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Down in the Valley below.jpg 
Views:	116 
Size:	877.4 KB 
ID:	113735  

  6. #6
    Registered User speismonqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    522
    this tutorial is great, a bit old but very useful
    http://www.foundation3d.com/index.ph..._articleid=105
    Dell XPS8700 Quad Core i7 [email protected] - 16 GB DDR3 - GeForce GTX 750ti - Windows 10

  7. #7
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,960
    seems that the gradients are buggy, or I have completly lost it, cant get distance to pivot point to work.

    you could just add a null ref and set the color layer to y-object distance and select the null, you can control the level of the color by either the gradient or actually move the null.

    Damn..I thought Ive done this before with ease...strange.
    solving it with weight map might be a way.

    Edit...the distance to pivot point works ..you have to have a color layer beneath it, but this gives only a radial falloff, and not just the y falloof you would want.

    But this really brings up a question about altitude layers ivé been missing for some time, no problems to do this in vue with such layer function..

    Michael

  8. #8
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,960
    I should mention you could also copy the displacement map in to the color functions, probably the easiest to do, but then you cant change the displacement on the fly and still have the correct color matching.

    Michael

  9. #9
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,960
    heres a couple of image samples, I might pack them to scene, but not today.

    the first image is just the displacement procedural layer copied and pasted in to the surface color layer, then pasted a second time but inverted layer, and changed color on them.

    the second image has a flow noise procedural and what I did here is to set a falloff with a small + value on y axis...check settings in the screen print....most important here that you check world
    coordinates..otherwise it wonīt work.

    The third image I added another procedural layer to add variations on the high plain, here I set the falloff to -5 also world coordinates, but...hereīs the trick, you have to set the position at a + value, in this case
    20 meter...the whole terrain here is 1km.

    As mentioned, you canīt go in and change the displacement layer, that would not let the texture follow it, I wish we had a full nodal approach here to simply
    control displacement layers together in node editor and also connect them to the color layers, but for some strange reason Lightwave nodals arenīt set up that way

    Michael
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	displacement layer copied.jpg 
Views:	84 
Size:	214.5 KB 
ID:	113740   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	falloff layer1.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	235.2 KB 
ID:	113741   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	falloff layer2.jpg 
Views:	91 
Size:	251.8 KB 
ID:	113742  

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by speismonqui View Post
    this tutorial is great, a bit old but very useful
    http://www.foundation3d.com/index.ph..._articleid=105
    Yes I went through this one but it didn't really work for me...sometimes they do sometimes they dont....question...I'm a big fan of MYST (Riven Exile and Revelation...) what computer programs do you think they used to create their landscapes...? they're perfect

  11. #11
    Super Member dwburman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    2,880
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    As mentioned, you canīt go in and change the displacement layer, that would not let the texture follow it, I wish we had a full nodal approach here to simply
    control displacement layers together in node editor and also connect them to the color layers, but for some strange reason Lightwave nodals arenīt set up that way

    Michael
    We do have that. You just need to plug something into the Displacement input in the node editor and turn on "Enable Bump" in the object properties and set an amount to displace.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mountainGradient.JPG 
Views:	120 
Size:	185.0 KB 
ID:	113747
    Attached Files Attached Files
    [mr] Dana W. Burman | http://dwburman.com
    Motion Graphics for sale at Pond5 Stock Footage
    Check out my tutorials at Liberty3d.com & my YouTube channel!

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by dwburman View Post
    We do have that. You just need to plug something into the Displacement input in the node editor and turn on "Enable Bump" in the object properties and set an amount to displace.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mountainGradient.JPG 
Views:	120 
Size:	185.0 KB 
ID:	113747
    How would I go about saving this as a preset?

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    78
    sorry never mind...I found the "save" button in the surfaces

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    78

    Something like this

    I'm trying to make something like this where as you get to the slope of the Mtn the color falls off and you see mostly rock

    - - - Updated - - -

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Falloff MTN.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	829.6 KB 
ID:	113759
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slope.jpg 
Views:	104 
Size:	248.6 KB 
ID:	113758  

  15. #15
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,960
    Quote Originally Posted by dwburman View Post
    We do have that. You just need to plug something into the Displacement input in the node editor and turn on "Enable Bump" in the object properties and set an amount to displace.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mountainGradient.JPG 
Views:	120 
Size:	185.0 KB 
ID:	113747
    Yes..I forgot about that, you should have to enable bump and set a value though ..for a better workflow that is.

    I recall using that...but at that time it felt slower that regular displacements, directly in the deform tab..but I am unsure of that.
    Thanks for the reminder though.

    Michael

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •