Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Remote Connection to Tricaster 455

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    67

    Remote Connection to Tricaster 455

    Hi,

    We currently have a 455 running in our main studio doing a live broadcast to the web. When we are not doing a live program we usually leave the stream running with a weather cam / streaming radio feed.

    Over the weekend we had an issue that required me to come in to the studio and restart the stream, a very simple operation.

    Is using remote desktop even an option with the Tricaster while it is running the main switcher software? I know I'm not supposed to treat the TriCaster like a normal Windows box so I'm very reluctant to try anything out like this for fear of screwing something up. Has anybody else tried anything like this to any degree of success?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    183
    Even though it's very much not recommended, Yes you can do it. I run TeamViewer on my TriCaster for restarting the stream remotely should it go down. Just make sure you do not have any screen sharing software active during a production, because as you mentioned, it's destined to fail.
    Central Control - MIDI, OSC and StreamDeck control for TriCaster and 3Play - centralcontrol.io

  3. #3
    Registered User 3xScreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central London
    Posts
    82
    We run TeamViewer on all of ours despite the strong warnings to not run other apps. The other thing we run on our Tricasters - which we shouldn't but is incredibly helpful in our live production work flow is Dropbox.
    3xScreen Media - the online video experts
    www.3xscreen.co.uk

    We use 860, 850 & 450 Tricasters, 3Play 425, Livetext laptops, LT Scoreboards, UltimateTV Midi Doll, Young Monkey's Mastercontrol.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    67
    Thanks for the replies folks! Much appreciated.

    Looks like I can save myself trips into the studio on the weekend.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    111
    inforum,
    I have used LogMeIn for a number of years now to run 5 Tricasters without any trouble. It's a solid platform with great support. In the Pro version, you get more.
    Myykk

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Yes, you can use on premise R-HUB remote support servers for remotely accessing devices and running Tricasters. It works without any hassles and works on all platforms.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •