View Poll Results: Which do you prefer for TriCaster control?

Voters
29. You may not vote on this poll
  • Mouse and keyboard work fine for me!

    6 20.69%
  • Mice are for cats ... gimme my control surface!

    23 79.31%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: How do you control your TriCaster?

  1. #1
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,397

    How do you control your TriCaster?

    So - help me settle an argument. It's the age old question: Do you primarily (i.e., more often than not) operate your TriCaster using a control surface? Or keyboard and mouse alone?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  2. #2
    Registered User ZachSchuster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN
    Posts
    783
    Loaded question... it depends. CS for switching almost exclusively, but keyboard and mouse for cueing and playing clips. Pretty much anything media related is done with the mouse. Oh yeah, and typing filenames for the record tab... I tried it with the CS but gave up. What a pain.
    Zach Schuster
    SuiteCG- Sports Scoreboard and Stat Tools
    Tricaster 855/460
    Zeplay Instant Replay
    ScoreOCR
    Sony NX5U

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    LPGC, Spain
    Posts
    131
    Same here. Control Surface for switching, Keyboard/Mouse for configuring virtuals, setting up DDRs and the like.
    Timewarp for replays and/or DDR handling whenever we do heavy use of prerecorded videos.
    iPad with "TCXD Audiomixer" for audio.

  4. #4
    Video Producer, So Calif.
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    200
    Most often, just keyboard and mouse. That's because we travel a lot and the CS requires an extra case. And most gigs are 1-2 hours... Not terrible without a CS. Heck, we even like to travel with our compact keyboard rather than a full-size with 10-key and arrows. Compact, compact, compact. We can do a whole job with one case for the tricaster itself and one case of "tricaster support" gear.
    www.TakeOneDigital.com
    Live webcasting from concept to broadcast * OC/LA/San Diego and Nationwide
    TC's: 300, 455, 460, Mini
    Cams: Sony PXW-X200, Pany HE-120 PTZ
    Cxns: HD-SDI over coax and fiber

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,533
    Mostly CS & mouse. The only thing I do with the keyboard is name my recordings and typically don't touch it after that unless I have to type a font. I use the mouse for the Audio mixer and to move clips around in the media players when I need to.

    Kris
    TriCasters: Mini, 410, 460, 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    Replay: 3Play 820
    CG: LiveText3 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

  6. #6
    Control surface is more convenient for zooming virtual sets.

  7. #7
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,214
    Control surface of some type as primary.
    Instead of a mouse I use a trackball to save desk space. My guys hate it but I love it (long live centipede!)
    TimeWarp of course if doing replays with TriCaster instead of 3play

    iPad with either Nacho's app or NewTek's.

    I often wonder why more haven't embraced more control on the iPad or other tablets. I only need to start my laptop for Livetext or wirecast backups.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  8. #8
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    I mostly use the control surface (98%) but for unscripted titles and clips, I need the mouse to quickly cue the clips sometimes. When I did the US Open, I needed to use the mouse to cue clips. So maybe 99% of time I use control surface because that's the only show I decided was the best way to cue the clips the fastest way to match the broadcasters live show.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  9. #9
    Registered User davedude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    141
    I use the Control Surface 98% of the time except when I need to change text on a lower third during a live broadcast. I also sometimes use a mouse to select a different input inside a virtual set (V1-V5) on my TCXD300 when needed.

  10. #10
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    676
    Centipede was the best game ever - I was even the UK #1 after clocking it. So many wasted hours / days !!! But it does mean my mouse control is perfect and it means I can write left handed and control a mouse right now

  11. #11
    software developer dhomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    413
    With Master Control of course.
    Master Control... One Touch Does it All and Much More...
    http://mastercontrol.youngmonkey.ca

    NewTek Authorized Reseller

  12. #12
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    CS all the time. We do have our 455 running with the keyboard and mouse regularly wile using the 855 with CS.
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    5
    Switcher definitely for me. Our graphics person uses the keyboard/mouse.

  14. #14
    Registered User digiview's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Encounter Bay SA
    Posts
    369
    Control Surface for switching, Keyboard/Mouse for DDRs and other function.
    Canary in the coal-mine!
    Tricaster 860 with CS, Sony PXW-X70,PMW EX3, Panasonic GH, DJI Drone & Ronin S, CD Apollo, Edius 6.5 editing System, Final Cut Pro X, Mac Pro 8 core, BMD preview Monitors.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    30
    We tried using the cs when they came out, but quickly had to chuck them out of the way (VT4/5 and 4 sd tricasters), but we are just now updating to HD switchers and getting the CS for each one and for the price we are paying, I am going to use them for a lot more this time around. The new ones have a lot more control and give you access to all of your inputs and virtuals, so that is a boon. The big thing for us is that we have to staff 4 operators to run our system and they all have to know how each switch is set up, so the keyboards will still have to be close at hand for a bit just in case.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •