Page 1 of 42 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 619

Thread: 11.5's BenchmarkMarbles.lws - share your machine's render time here

  1. #1
    Red Mage Celshader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burbank, California
    Posts
    1,817

    11.5's BenchmarkMarbles.lws - share your machine's render time here

    In the LightWave_11-5_Content folder, you will find a Dave Jerrard benchmark scene for modern processors here:

    Code:
    LightWave_11-5_Content\Rendering\Benchmark_Marbles\BenchmarkMarbles
    Set your content directory to the "BenchmarkMarbles" folder at the end of the above path, then load "BenchmarkMarbles.lws" into LightWave 11.5 and hit F9. Share your results and your machine specs here.

    Here is the 1280x720 image:



    Here's an example of render times on an AMD FX-8150:




    Specs on the machine responsible for the screengrab above:

    Jennifer Hachigian's machine at home:

    Render time: 2h 15m 22s
    CPU: AMD FX-8150
    RAM: 32GB DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) 10-11-10-30
    Overclocking: None
    OS: Windows 7

    Other known render times:

    Dave Jerrard's machine at home:

    Render time: 57m 57s
    CPU: dual AMD Opteron 6272
    RAM: 32GB DDR3 SDRAM ECC Registered DDR3 1333 CL9
    Overclocking: None
    OS: Windows 7

    Dave Jerrard's machine at work:

    Render time: 1hr 47min
    CPU: Intel x5650
    RAM: 6GB (unknown type)
    Overclocking: None
    OS: Windows 7
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bench_FX-8150__11_5.jpg 
Views:	405 
Size:	126.6 KB 
ID:	110982   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bench_FX-8150__11_5_Render.jpg 
Views:	569 
Size:	240.8 KB 
ID:	110983  
    Last edited by Celshader; 02-02-2013 at 01:38 PM. Reason: Dave just told me the exact minutes/seconds of his benchmark results at home.
    Jen's 3D -- LightWave stuff.
    Jen's 2D -- my comic book.

    Python is my smashing board. LightWave is my S.M.A.K.

  2. #2
    Studio Animator DonJMyers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    573
    Jen I noticed the version of this scene sent as a sample has shading samples and light samples at 1. This makes renders fast but pebbly. But your render looks great. Did you change those settings and, if so, doesn't that make the benchmark times messed up?

  3. #3
    Carbon fibre dongle® 50one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Honeycomb hideout
    Posts
    2,384
    Time : 2h 6m 39s

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	renderfest.jpg 
Views:	599 
Size:	407.4 KB 
ID:	110994


    Machine Spec(@ home):
    - i7 2600K non-overclocked 3.4GHz
    - 16GB Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
    - Asus P8Z77-V LX, Intel Z77
    - Win7 / x64

    Was doing other things in the background during the render tho(Zbrush & modo & browsing the web).

    Must admit that this release seems to be the one of, if not the most stable LW up-to-date, remember times when exiting app without saving the scene was causing the app to go into 'freeze' mode.
    Last edited by 50one; 02-02-2013 at 01:11 PM. Reason: should be 39s instead of 59s

  4. #4
    Cow Orker cagey5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,273
    1Hr 50m 25s.
    Intel i7 3770 @ 3.5Ghz no overclocking,
    win 7, x64
    8 Meg Memory
    Forum Tips
    If English is your first language, you should know it's 'losing' and not 'loosing'!

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    846
    hardware as below is current. Time to re-equip.
    3hrs 5secs
    Last edited by BokadCastle; 02-02-2013 at 07:01 PM.

  6. #6
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    Heh. I knew I would probably be close to last in this, but it was fun to check out where I stood.

    Mac Mini with 2.0 GHz quad core i7, 16GB of RAM.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mini_stats.png 
Views:	556 
Size:	19.5 KB 
ID:	111021

    Here's my (pretty weak) render time:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	marbles_time.png 
Views:	1004 
Size:	518.7 KB 
ID:	111022

    And the final render:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	marbles_benchmark.png 
Views:	468 
Size:	1.75 MB 
ID:	111023
    “There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

    iMac Pro
    "iCan" Mac Pro
    MacBook Pro
    Multiple Mac Minis

  7. #7
    Registered User GoatDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92

    Here's Mine

    1hr 21min

    I7-3960
    16 Gig
    Radeon 3950
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BenchmarkMarble.jpg 
Views:	427 
Size:	435.0 KB 
ID:	111024  

  8. #8
    Top Dog
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,057
    MacBook Pro

    LW 11.5
    Render time: 2h 19m 11s
    CPU: 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7
    RAM: 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Overclocking: None
    OS: Mac OS X 10.8.2

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-02 at 9.57.22 PM.png 
Views:	542 
Size:	517.1 KB 
ID:	111028

    Then I ran LW 11.0.3 with same hardware:

    Render time: 2h 14m 26s
    Last edited by wesleycorgi; 02-03-2013 at 02:41 AM. Reason: added 11.0.3 benchmark

  9. #9
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,473
    2h 33m 15.9s

    Homebuilt Workstation: i7 960 @ 3.2Ghz (No OC), 24GB Ram, Win 7 64 Pro, 92 processes running while rendering.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  10. #10
    Newbie Member davcol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Featherbrooke Estate
    Posts
    33
    Custom-built PC
    Render time: 2h 28m 14s
    CPU: 3.0 GHz Intel Core i7
    RAM: 12 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
    Overclocking: None
    OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
    DaveG

    Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
    ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson ~

  11. #11
    Lightwaver xes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    44
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bench.jpg 
Views:	295 
Size:	197.4 KB 
ID:	111035

    2h 3min 17seg

    i7 3770. 3.4GHz

    I was doing other things in the background during the render too.

  12. #12
    geo messy madno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    794
    33 min, 40 sec
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RenderTime.png 
Views:	909 
Size:	447.0 KB 
ID:	111036

    System : DELL Precision T7600
    CPU : 2 x Xeon E5-2687W
    RAM : 32 GB 1600 MHz ECC
    SSD 1 : Samsung PM83 (OS)
    SSD 2 : Crucial M4 (Scenes)
    SSD 3 : Crucial C300 (Storage)
    Graphic : AMD FirePro V7900

    I love it:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPU-Load.png 
Views:	851 
Size:	5.8 KB 
ID:	111037

  13. #13
    Red Mage Celshader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burbank, California
    Posts
    1,817

    Lightbulb

    madno, that is one amazing machine you have there.

    Quote Originally Posted by DonJMyers View Post
    Jen I noticed the version of this scene sent as a sample has shading samples and light samples at 1. This makes renders fast but pebbly. But your render looks great. Did you change those settings and, if so, doesn't that make the benchmark times messed up?
    I did not change the settings. I loaded up the scene as-is from the 11.5 content directory and hit F9. What happens when you render this benchmark on your machine?

    Dave Jerrard tends to throw the burden of render cleanup on the back of Adaptive Sampling. That is why he set the Light/Shading Samples to 1, and the Rays Per Evaluation for Monte Carlo to 4. With the Minimum Samples set to 3, the scene actually starts with a base level of 3 Light/Shading Samples -- 1 Light/Shading sample for each of the 3 camera rays. The scene also has a base level of 12 RPE for the Monte Carlo Radiosity -- 4 RPE for each of the 3 camera rays initially fired per pixel.

    With a Threshold of 0.01 and a Maximum Samples of 192, the camera is forced to fire up to 192 rays per pixel to clean up the initial mess. It will keep firing rays until the difference in brightness between each pair of pixels falls below 0.01, or until 192 rays have been fired for each pixel -- whichever comes first. Each additional camera ray takes an additional 1 Light Sample, 1 Shading Sample, and 4 Rays Per Evaluation. A pixel that hits the maximum 192 camera samples will also have 192 Light Samples (1 Light Sample x 192 camera rays), 192 Shading Samples (1 Shading Sample x 192 camera rays) and 768 Rays Per Evaluation (4 RPE x 192 camera rays).

    The Ray Cutoff (Render Globals > Render > Ray Cutoff) is just as finicky as the Threshold in this scene -- a value of 0.01. This is the "Threshold" setting for Ray Recursion. The Ray Recursion Limit is set to 12, but the rays will stop recursing if the difference in brightness between the last two bounces was less than 0.01 or until they stop hitting a reflective/refractive surface. If anyone want this render to take even longer, set the Ray Cutoff to 0.0 to force all rays to recurse up to 12 bounces until they stop hitting a reflective/refractive surface.
    Last edited by Celshader; 02-03-2013 at 10:10 AM. Reason: Added more tech info...
    Jen's 3D -- LightWave stuff.
    Jen's 2D -- my comic book.

    Python is my smashing board. LightWave is my S.M.A.K.

  14. #14
    apple macpro mid 2010, 2 x 6 core xeon [email protected] ghz, 40 gb ram, osx 10.8.2, lw11.5 mac 64 bit:

    56 min 1 sec
    3dworks visual computing
    demo reel on vimeo
    instagram

    OSX 10.12.x, macpro 5.1, nvidia gtx 980 ti, LW2015.x / 2018.x, octane 3.x

  15. #15
    Jeebus. I should have known not to walk into this thread, now my six-core Phenom seems so puny....

    Custom-built PC
    Render time: 2h 46m 14s
    CPU: 3.0 GHz AMD Phenom 1075T hex core
    RAM: 32 GB DDR1333 9-9-9-24
    Overclocking: None
    OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

    Judging from the noise in the BG, I'd say that relying on adaptive AA instead of sample quality has its limits.

    I'm a bit disappointed at the improvement the 8150 shows versus my six-core. In the meantime, I'm about to start up my 3770k OC'd to 4.2 GHz, and based on previous renders I'm betting it will come in under 2 hours.
    Last edited by CourtJester; 02-03-2013 at 06:17 PM.

Page 1 of 42 12311 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •