Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Consistent setting where FiberFX Crashes Layout

  1. #1
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014

    Consistent setting where FiberFX Crashes Layout

    I have a model with two instances of FiberFX applied, to two different areas of the surface. If both are "on" via the checkmark boxes on the interface panel, my system is so slow I can't even scrub the timeline. So, I uncheck them when trying to do anything. If I attempt an F9 render without remembering to re-check both boxes Layout crashes to desktop.

    Anyone else see this behavior?

  2. #2
    "OH NO!", Joseph Joestar ncr100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,100
    Blog Entries
    2
    No but I am a newbie.

    How do you get two instances of FFX on one object?
    -Nick
    audio: Ö ¤ wk Py

  3. #3
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    What I did (not sure if there's another way) was right-click the existing instance and select "clone." That gave me a second one where I was able to change the surface and properties.

  4. #4
    Registered User GoatDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92
    I get the same behavior even with one instance.

  5. #5
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    Okay, thanks. I was concerned that maybe I had corrupted configs or something, but if this is FFX behavior that others are seeing I can just chalk it up to something I need to keep on top of and move on.

    Thanks again!
    “There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

    iMac Pro
    "iCan" Mac Pro
    MacBook Pro
    Multiple Mac Minis

  6. #6
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    So I've tried just unchecking one of the two instances, and in that case the F9 render works fine. It seems that only when you have no active instances checked does it crash Layout.
    “There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

    iMac Pro
    "iCan" Mac Pro
    MacBook Pro
    Multiple Mac Minis

  7. #7
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729

    fogbug it

    Use PACKAGE SCENE, and send it as an example to FogBugz:

    That way NewTek has a concrete example to test against.

    Document everything you can. Simplify the scene to the least number of elements-- have a pity on the tester who has to decipher some foreign LWS.

    This is the BEST way to let NewTek know how the code is actually getting used.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  8. #8
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    Cool, thanks. I have it all packaged up and ready, but it just occurred to me I might want to hold off and test it against 11.5 first to make sure they haven't already addressed whatever-it-is. I think I read there were some FFX changes coming, no?
    “There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

    iMac Pro
    "iCan" Mac Pro
    MacBook Pro
    Multiple Mac Minis

  9. #9
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Spinland View Post
    Cool, thanks. I have it all packaged up and ready, but it just occurred to me I might want to hold off and test it against 11.5 first ......
    Just send the darn thing: they're adults, they can handle it.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  10. #10
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Spinland View Post
    Cool, thanks. I have it all packaged up and ready, but it just occurred to me I might want to hold off and test it against 11.5 first ......
    Just send the darn thing: they're adults, they can handle it.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  11. #11
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    K. Done.
    “There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

    iMac Pro
    "iCan" Mac Pro
    MacBook Pro
    Multiple Mac Minis

  12. #12
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    Got back a reply almost at once:

    "This was an issue in 11.0.3 -- this has been fixed for 11.5"
    “There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

    iMac Pro
    "iCan" Mac Pro
    MacBook Pro
    Multiple Mac Minis

  13. #13
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Good: that was really a showstopper.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  14. #14
    Spinny Spinland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Utica NY, USA
    Posts
    2,014
    Heh. It certainly got my attention when I forgot both to save and to re-check FFX after a pose before doing a test render. I think I invented some new words.
    “There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

    iMac Pro
    "iCan" Mac Pro
    MacBook Pro
    Multiple Mac Minis

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •