Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Live Text Character Limit

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    TH
    Posts
    10

    Live Text Character Limit

    Currently on our broadcast we have a ticker at the bottom that shows racer positions... in a long line of data it either gets cut off or overlapped upon itself... Not sure what to do.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    TH
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by cptcorn View Post
    Currently on our broadcast we have a ticker at the bottom that shows racer positions... in a long line of data it either gets cut off or overlapped upon itself... Not sure what to do.
    Anyone? ...

  3. #3
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,403
    could you possibly post a little clip showing the problem, and maybe also a screengrab showing your LiveSet setup?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    TH
    Posts
    10
    Here you go. If you notice, the 5th place rider's name is getting cut off. It is pulling this data from a text file that gets copied over to our system from timing/scoring ... I've tried an xml file also, and it does the same thing.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screengrab001.jpg 
Views:	178 
Size:	110.9 KB 
ID:	111965

  5. #5
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,403
    Thanks. Just how long is the source line?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    TH
    Posts
    10
    I've attached a typical file we get.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,403
    Thanks. I'll look into this. I can't promise it'll be immediate, as we're in the run-up period to NAB and it's a bit nuts (as usual).
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    TH
    Posts
    10
    No worries... takes me long enough to respond. Our last race this season is this weekend. Then I go into R/D mode.

    In all honesty I was always kind of anti-LiveText, but I have a decent workflow/setup that has been working pretty well. So that makes me happy. My only issues now are the text getting cutoff and the wish for more 'photoshop' like characteristics like inner shadow, etc.

    Another issue I just noticed is that I used to be able to use some fonts, and then they randomly stopped working, which happen to be the fonts I need. I've unistalled/reinstalled a time or two also.

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,403
    Maybe bug-report the font issue, with specifics.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  10. #10
    NewTek Engineering QA VideoEng QA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    163
    cptcorn,

    Thank you for reporting the issue and attaching the files. We've made some adjustments and the character limit has been greatly increased for values coming in from a text file. This should allow you to have very long crawls with no issues. We will be publishing an update to LiveText(DataLink) very soon.

    Thank you,
    Jeremy Brosius
    NewTek Engineering QA
    For bug reports, feature requests, or technical inquiries: https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.asp?pg=pgPublicEdit

  11. #11
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    676
    Will there be a beta release first as I seem to have the ability to make it crash on a regular basis and would like to give it a thorough thrashing please.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    TH
    Posts
    10
    I've been testing it all weekend... no problems so far. Awesome. Thanks Jeremy

  13. #13
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    676
    Is it out ? How do I get it ? My downloads only show 2.12

  14. #14
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    676
    x

  15. #15
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    676
    Jeremy or anyone at QA. That earlier bump was a reminder that I knew I had an event coming up later in the year.

    I now have an event THIS WEEK and the character limit is going to seriously affect me. I am on a build that says 080313.

    How can I get hold of this update urgently please ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •