Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Gradient

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Great State of Georgia
    Posts
    423

    Gradient

    I am attempting to change the red color of the tube to a gradient of red to green. The attachment shows what I've done so far. I click on "Use Texture" and nothing happens. Is it my "Input Parameter?" Any help is appreciated. I am in Modelor. Tech support says I should be in Layout.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Forum 11-8-2012 4-10-36 PM.jpg 
Views:	86 
Size:	356.3 KB 
ID:	109035  
    Enjoy Life, this is not a rehearsal!!!

  2. #2
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    If you want to use distant to object you have to be in layout. And you won't see nodal textures in openGL, you have to render the frame to see what happens only the T button works like you are using now but only if you use the GLSL shading method. You can use X(yz) distance to object instead.
    Last edited by 3DGFXStudios; 11-08-2012 at 02:42 PM.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Great State of Georgia
    Posts
    423
    Can I do a gradient in Modeler?
    Enjoy Life, this is not a rehearsal!!!

  4. #4
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    Yup... I edited the other message Check it again. (you can change the shading method in the modeler properties GL tab)

  5. #5
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    Yup... I edited the other message Check it again. (you can change the shading method in the modeler properties GL tab)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Yup... I edited the other message Check it again. (you can change the shading method in the modeler properties GL tab)

  6. #6
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    wow the forums are buggy :O :O :O

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    France
    Posts
    498
    You can't use "Distance to Object" because you need to specify another object, simply.

    In the "Layout" ago "VPR" and the "Viper", in the "Modeler" it's only the OPEN-GL. You have to put in "MultitextureShaders" to display "Color Maps" and "GLSLShaders" to display the procedural. The Nodes need the "VPR" therefore not possible in "Modeler". The Gradients can be displayed provided that there is no interaction with another object (Null, object, Camera, Light).

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Great State of Georgia
    Posts
    423

    Gradient

    I believe I have the correct settings but still can't get the gradient to appear on object. I attempted to follow instructions for modeler as suggested by Areyos Alektor.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	11-15-2012 1-31-08 PM.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	402.8 KB 
ID:	109172  
    Enjoy Life, this is not a rehearsal!!!

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Great State of Georgia
    Posts
    423
    I don't know exactly what I did, but it is where I want it. Thanks to those with advice.
    Enjoy Life, this is not a rehearsal!!!

  10. #10
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Quote Originally Posted by ednachman View Post
    I believe I have the correct settings but still can't get the gradient to appear on object. I attempted to follow instructions for modeler as suggested by Areyos Alektor.
    In the attached thumbnail, the gradient input is set to "Previous Layer", and there is none, so that's probably why that one didn't work.

    Please post the one that DID work, screen grab from Layout not Modeler. VPR should show this live (OpenGL maybe, maybe not, probably not).

    (Whenever you solve your own question, it's good form to post the solution here too.)
    Last edited by jeric_synergy; 11-15-2012 at 01:15 PM.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Great State of Georgia
    Posts
    423

    Gradient

    Here it is in Layout. The "Input Parameter" under "Texture Editor" can be either "Distance to Object" or "Distance to pivot point.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	11-15-2012 4-28-57 PM.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	355.4 KB 
ID:	109174  
    Enjoy Life, this is not a rehearsal!!!

  12. #12
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,729
    Don't you have to specify a specific object if you use "Distance to Object"?

    Note that you may possibly encounter moving textures if you use displacement on your objects, as that would change the distance to {everything}. This may or may not occur w/the old Layers system, but it would certainly occur in certain nodal setups.

    I only mention it in case it comes up: with rigid objects it won't be a problem.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  13. #13
    Super Member dwburman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    2,880
    I made a tutorial that's all about gradients in LightWave. There are a few free chapters you can look at that might help you out even if you can't/don't want to buy the whole course.

    http://www.liberty3d.com/citizens/d-...eos/gradients/
    [mr] Dana W. Burman | http://dwburman.com
    Motion Graphics for sale at Pond5 Stock Footage
    Check out my tutorials at Liberty3d.com & my YouTube channel!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •