Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: FCP X output best for TriCaster

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Port Charlotte, FL
    Posts
    10
    will look up the procedure

    thanks

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    66
    I am also trying to install this codec. However, I don't have Compressor and would rather be able to share to the correct codec from into FCPX.
    Last edited by mtash; 10-30-2012 at 10:03 PM.

  3. #18
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,353
    Quote Originally Posted by mtash View Post
    I am also trying to install this codec.
    Apart from the need to sidestep Gatekeeper in Mountain Lion systems only (which is being worked on), installation is a snap.

    Quote Originally Posted by mtash View Post
    However, I don't have Compressor and would rather be able to share to the correct codec from into FCPX.
    I agree. It's puzzling that the developers of FCP opted to limit native export options to such a small list. Anything other than a handful of alternatives requires you to own Compressor, and you don't even get access to the settings of the few codecs it does expose without it. For example, you can't use most of Apple's own Quicktime codecs, never mind ours. This seems particularly odd when you notice that even iMovie does not have these limitations ... nor does Avid Media Composer for that matter.

    This all said, if you don't need an alpha, for an XD series TriCaster, you might find that one of the two XDCAM HD options in FCP's Export Media feature work ok (for an SD TriCaster or export, a DV Quickitime file would probably be fine). I haven't tried them, but they are very similar to one of NewTek's own Quicktime formats.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Port Charlotte, FL
    Posts
    10
    a fix that works...
    IF you have Compressor 3 (old version) installed...
    use Compressor to create Custom Presets for the SpeedHQ codecs
    open {User Folder}>Library>Application Support>Compressor
    Cmd+Click all those you made (SpeedHQ0.settings for example)
    Control+Click and select "Copy # Items"
    find the Settings folder in the same Compressor folder
    open, Control+Click and paste them there

    open FCP X, under preferences, add a destination
    click the Compressor settings
    the codecs should magically appear

    NOW, I haven't done any "sharing" yet...but hopefully this will work

  5. #20
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,353
    If you want to avoid all the rigamarole, having created the preset(s) in Compressor all you need to do is select "Export Using Compressor Settings" in FCPX's "Share" menu.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    66
    Steve: I've bought Compressor 4. Now what?

  7. #22
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,353
    Quote Originally Posted by mtash View Post
    Steve: I've bought Compressor 4. Now what?
    Here you go: forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?131251
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Port Charlotte, FL
    Posts
    10
    I would have gone that way...but I don't have Compressor 4....and the Share option doesn't work with Compressor 3...(being a school, the software purchasing fund is non-existent there...)

  9. #24
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,353
    Understood - been there.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •