Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: IS there any lscript programmer here that can help me out please

  1. #1

    IS there any lscript programmer here that can help me out please

    Hey guys n girls

    Ime looking for someone here who is into lscripting
    for a small script, so if anyone have the time and want to help
    i would like to hear from you

    BEst regards

    Mis
    Best regards

    MIS // TRH Logos // www.trhlogos.dk
    3D graphics, Anaglyph stereo, Digita & Macro photos & 61 Free Lightwave Video tutorials,
    wich adds up to more then 5 hours of Video.

  2. #2
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    What are you trying to get help on?
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  3. #3
    well ime not a programmer and ive been doing some searching but my brain seems not to be helping :/

    when i model especialy with subpatching i use Connect alot
    connect between points and edges and polygons

    the problem is if i select points and then connect, the points is still selected so i need to deselect them
    after i have connected each time, Very anoying
    same goes for polygons.
    edges deselect fine

    so ime thinking if someone could make a small lscript or somthing
    that could call the two internal modeler commands
    so first Connect and after that deselect some how
    so i can put that on a shortcut insted of the standart connect.

    Making any sense ?
    Best regards

    MIS // TRH Logos // www.trhlogos.dk
    3D graphics, Anaglyph stereo, Digita & Macro photos & 61 Free Lightwave Video tutorials,
    wich adds up to more then 5 hours of Video.

  4. #4
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    I don't lscript in Modeler much so use this at your own risk.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  5. #5
    Thanks man, ill test it out right away
    Best regards

    MIS // TRH Logos // www.trhlogos.dk
    3D graphics, Anaglyph stereo, Digita & Macro photos & 61 Free Lightwave Video tutorials,
    wich adds up to more then 5 hours of Video.

  6. #6
    awesome, seems to work very well

    Thanks a bunch man
    Best regards

    MIS // TRH Logos // www.trhlogos.dk
    3D graphics, Anaglyph stereo, Digita & Macro photos & 61 Free Lightwave Video tutorials,
    wich adds up to more then 5 hours of Video.

  7. #7
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576


    The code is commented so you can see what it's doing.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  8. #8
    Thanks, for your fast and effective support
    Best regards

    MIS // TRH Logos // www.trhlogos.dk
    3D graphics, Anaglyph stereo, Digita & Macro photos & 61 Free Lightwave Video tutorials,
    wich adds up to more then 5 hours of Video.

  9. #9
    Code Muppet evenflcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,642
    Do file a feature request anyway (NT seldom consider workflow issues actual bugs if past reports are anything to go by). That selection remains for such an operation goes against what I would claim to be the standard behaviour/workflow in Modeler. And I can't figure out a good motivation why it this should be different from the norm.
    Last edited by evenflcw; 10-10-2012 at 03:59 PM.

  10. #10
    Code Muppet evenflcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,642
    The only thing one might add to the script is to figure out what selection mode one is in, so you don't clear selection for the mode you are not in*. Some workflows do include storing a selection in one mode for later use, while performing edits in another mode. Which is another workflow issue some kungfu tools have - when you undo them, they don't restore the initial selection.

    *This is not readily possible in lscript as there are no statechecks available for selection mode... but you should be able to determine this by checking point/polycount under different modes. Probably lots of gotchas doing that though.
    Last edited by evenflcw; 10-10-2012 at 04:08 PM.

  11. #11
    Well thing is right now as a hobbyist i dont have the money to update to lw 11
    so if i filed it and they made it i wouldnt get it but for future
    and for helping others yes it might be a good ideer.

    Ime though not experienced in filing stuff
    What do i do to do so ?
    Best regards

    MIS // TRH Logos // www.trhlogos.dk
    3D graphics, Anaglyph stereo, Digita & Macro photos & 61 Free Lightwave Video tutorials,
    wich adds up to more then 5 hours of Video.

  12. #12
    evenflcw what about "Drop Current Selection" command? It doesn't mess with the selection in other modes, just the current one.

    Though if tools start to evolve by defining axis and origins with secondary selections there it is again.
    Last edited by probiner; 10-10-2012 at 04:54 PM.

  13. #13
    Code Muppet evenflcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,642
    Can't find "Drop Current Selection" in list of callable commands, unfortunately. I think some guy on the forum might have provided an lscript library (c compiled using sdk) that provides the state of the current selection mode. The drawback is that, being c compiled, this library is not platform independent, as the lscript is. But with python now available and shaped after the sdk, the current selmode should be possible to query from platform independent non-compiled code. So either one codes the whole thing in python, or just the query part (execute the python script from lscript which write selmode status to file and then read it from the lscript). Not as neat as a proper lscript library, but it is possible without compiling anything.

    Don't quote me on this... I'm only assuming it's possible to check selection mode in python, as it is from c-sdk, and the former takes after the later. It might not have been implemented yet, for all I know.

  14. #14
    cool, also check >

    Lightwave plugin - cp MergeDeselect
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htI3-W9Gl5A

    Quote Originally Posted by evenflcw View Post
    Can't find "Drop Current Selection" in list of callable commands, unfortunately.
    what about > selpolygon(CLEAR);
    Last edited by erikals; 10-10-2012 at 05:02 PM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  15. #15
    Banned OnlineRender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow , Scotland , UK
    Posts
    6,370
    thats a cool script " both " you could merge them no pun intended

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •