Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Problem with weight maps!!!

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17

    Exclamation Problem with weight maps!!!

    Hi
    I weight painted my character and added skelegons. I assigned each skelegon a weight map. Then in Layout, I've converted skelegons into bones. But when I try to rotate some bones, nothing happens. I mean, the bone + child bones rotate, but the mesh does not move.
    Help plz!!!

  2. #2
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,766
    bones rested/active? bones children of the mesh they're meant to be controlling?
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  3. #3
    Also check to see if "Deform" is enabled in the setup tab.
    Professional-level 3d training: Ryan's Lightwave Learning
    Plugin Developer: RR Tools for Lightwave

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    Thx guys for the replies, but Deform is enabled and all bones are active. Just don't know what to do. Should I post the source file for you to take a look at it?
    Thx again

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    Ok just got it to work. Another question: When i rotate the bones, it horribly deforms the mesh. How can i just rotate them to make rotate the associated mesh, without deform?
    Thx

  6. #6
    oh oh oh how did you fixed it?

  7. #7
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,727
    Quote Originally Posted by P0sitr0n View Post
    Ok just got it to work.
    And yet you don't deign to tell us how. Nice.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    Ya I actually created the whole skeleton directly from bones and assigned a weightmap in Layout. Before, I did skelegons in Modeler and converted them. But now, all my mesh is kindda deformed.

  9. #9
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,766
    You ve used the scale tool on the bones havent you.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    Yes I did.

  11. #11
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,766
    dont
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    ok thx ill re-try

  13. #13
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,132
    Succint. I like it.
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    But how should I re-size them?

  15. #15
    You can use the Bone Edit tools to move the positions and length (different than just adjusting the length in the bone panel which does not edit the connecting bone position). But really, if you are building a rig you ought to do some tutorials on how to do it in Layout. Not the same as in Modeler. Rigging is not really a jump in head first kind of thing. Balance some training in there so you know what you are doing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •