Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Video colour space & codecs

  1. #1
    Rock'nRoll Set Visualiser Adrian@Stufish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    452

    Video colour space & codecs

    For many years we have been rendering animations from LightWave as TGA sequences and using SpeedEdit to convert those to Speed HQ 4:2:2 .avi to archive and to edit.
    Now our output is HD and usually in 3D & always displayed via a computer of some sort.
    We are noticing that when we look at our TGA output files on our best PC monitors we cannot see any banding or artifacting (particularly in skys), but when we watch (or pause) our video output (as SpeedEditit HQ - not after compression to something to send to our clients) we can see banding & blotchiness.
    This would suggest to me that we need to use some other form of video file to convert our TGA sequences to, but what ?
    I think the problem is with colour space rather than codec, but I'm no video engineer (& don't want to be).
    We're not overly concerned with file size, but very concerned about image quality (bunch of architects!).
    It's only Rock & Roll, but it pays the wages!

  2. #2
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,046
    And are you using the sRGB colourspace in LightWave? I presume your skies are images? Are they HDRs?

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  3. #3
    Rock'nRoll Set Visualiser Adrian@Stufish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    452
    linear colour space, HDRI skys, note I pointed out that the individual TGA images do not exhibit banding, but after being turned into Speed HQ 4:2:2 avi we can see banding & artifacting, and on other subtle stuff as well as skys.
    The render seems fine, it's the video colourspace/codec format we're worried about.
    It's only Rock & Roll, but it pays the wages!

  4. #4
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,046
    When you say Linear, do you mean that all the dropdowns are at Linear in the CS tab? That actually means you *aren't* converting. It would be better to use sRGB, especially if the destination is the computer screen. I don't know if that would also help with the codec, but it may do.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  5. #5
    Rock'nRoll Set Visualiser Adrian@Stufish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    452
    Have played with colour space to get advantage of linear workflow as recommended after it became available in LW, sRGB not being much use for the type of artily lit interior stuff we do a lot of.
    At present have been all set to Linear, lighting is fine, much work gone into it output TGAs are EXACTLY right for both interior & exterior stuff on the computer screen. And the other end of the studio is complaining about the same thing happening in stuff rendered to TGA sequence in (sob, sob) MAX .
    It's when we turn it into avi files the problem starts, the colour, gamma, contrast & everything are fine, the occasional bit of banding & artifacting are not.
    It's only Rock & Roll, but it pays the wages!

  6. #6
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,046
    You're not actually taking advantage of linear workflow Adrian, you're using LightWave exactly as it was in 9. HDRIs do not need conversion, but any JPGs, TGAs, PNGs, etc. that you use are being over-corrected and your lighting is dropping off too fast when you have everything set to Linear, trust me. Also, for the codec have you tried Lagarith? It uses the same compression as PNG, meaning you lose no image fiability.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  7. #7
    Rock'nRoll Set Visualiser Adrian@Stufish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    452
    Thanks Ben,
    looking back at scenes generating recent exteriors, colour space settings as attached jpg does that look right ?
    I'll try the codec !
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CS.JPG 
Views:	117 
Size:	38.9 KB 
ID:	108229  
    It's only Rock & Roll, but it pays the wages!

  8. #8
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,046
    I'd just use the sRGB preset from the dropdown, but turn off Convert 8-bit to Float.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •