Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 42 of 42

Thread: Online render farms - are they any good?

  1. #31
    Garage is great. Thomas gives great support and feedback as well, and he manually tweaks scenes if a small fix is needed. In some other farms you dont have any direct contact with a guy, he answers realtime on skype instead. So yes i would reccomend Garage too, we did quite a lot of works with them.


    Paolo

  2. #32
    Eh, what?
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Right here, right now
    Posts
    604
    Quote Originally Posted by Pavlov View Post
    Garage is great. Thomas gives great support and feedback as well...
    To be fair, Rebus' support isn't shabby either - I once called them at 1pm on a sunday and they were as kind and helpful as always. Having said that, apart from price (but you do get some truly astonishing rendertimes) they're not big on plug-ins - even relatively common stuff such as IFW isn't supported.

    ADP.

  3. #33
    Hi,

    Thx a lot for all good feedback. We are changing all hardware, by end of the year we will have more - more efficient - nodes. That probably will help us to lower the prices even more.

    If anyone want hardware advice for buying stuff I can post some suggestions if you are interested.
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  4. #34
    Registered User kadri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    611
    Soth what about my strange problem?

    "I do not know why but GarageFarm.net is always problematic to open here .
    Maybe it is a problem on my side , not sure of course ,
    but Garagefarm and the pages in it opens nearly always not at all or partially .
    Looks randomly mostly.
    And i have not many such sites that behave in this way.
    Curious why this happens."

    Seems like i am the only one who have this problem?
    I tried with Chrome , Explorer and Firefox .
    All the same.

  5. #35
    I can imagine that almost 500kb background image does not play well with your internet connection.

    What speed do you have there?
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  6. #36
    Registered User kadri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    611
    It is 8 mbps Soth.

    When some of the links above do not open i see this message
    Hata 101 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_RESET): Bağlantı sıfırlandı.

    If i click the links on the top they sometime open but mostly i get this kind of problem.
    The strange thing is for example i tried to see the pricing page.
    I saw it ones but then so much i tried to refresh etc it did not open.

    That background image is big but i doubt that this is the problem Soth.
    I had this problem 1-2 years ago too and could then not see all of your website .
    I had a project a while ago but could not open your site.
    I thought you had some server problems at those times but i think this is another kind of problem now.

    Not that i have now a project to use your farm , but just in case if i have to

  7. #37
    Hmm, i actually do not host my website at all, I will try to contact their technical support, thx for the info.

    I will ask other customers from Turkey if they have any problems with my website too.
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  8. #38
    Looks like there is a need for some YT video about building your own render farm rig, I guess I have some knowledge to share in that topic.
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  9. #39
    Registered User kadri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    611
    Thanks Soth

  10. #40
    Quote Originally Posted by Soth View Post
    Looks like there is a need for some YT video about building your own render farm rig, I guess I have some knowledge to share in that topic.
    I would love to know how to do that... :-)
    Win 7 64, Core i7-3930 @ 4.2 GHz, 32 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 680

    http://www.ryste3d.com

  11. #41
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    1,691
    Bump!

    (I thought this thread better not die just yet)
    Salut!,
    Allabulle.

  12. #42
    gryphon designs ltd Afalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Chicagoland, USA
    Posts
    486
    I've used GarageFarm in production as well as privately over the years and have to say -->> those guys have been FANTASTIC and the results well worth it in every regard (they rendered all cg sequences on the 4 tv spots I did for American Chopper and Fast & Furious -- been a while but their level of service is notable and memorable). I am ramping up my own studio as we speak (new workstations, expanding our software arsenal, and all around beefing up the pipeline and looking forward to sending more work their way over the next year!).

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. Online render farms
    By Philbert in forum LW - Community
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 08:01 AM
  2. Online Render Farms?
    By Filmdesigner in forum LW - General Techniques, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-06-2008, 11:58 AM
  3. Render Farms
    By gpdesigner in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2006, 06:09 PM
  4. online render farms
    By smcstravick in forum LW - PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2005, 12:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •