Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Need Tips for installing VT-5 on 64bit Windows 7

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82

    Need Tips for installing VT-5 on 64bit Windows 7

    I am trying to install my vt-5 onto my new computer that is a 64-bit 8 core operating system with windows 7

    I have disks for a complete VT-4 install and two disks for the vt-5 upgrade and downloads up to VT5v53Update to work with. I also have the SX-8 break out box (BOB)

    I have tried the install trail from 4 to v53 and have not been able to get it to work.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?

    or do i need to just keep it in its old box on the 32-Bit XP platform?

    Thanks for any help you can give me!
    B.S.

  2. #2
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,617
    Simply Install the VT[5] upgrade. Don't need the VT[4]. It's not Win7 compatible anyway.
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, NC1 I/O, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, TS 100, TS 4000

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82
    Thanks for the response, but the VT 5 Disk that I have is an Upgrade disk and says that it needs a previous version of VT to upgrade.
    B.S.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82
    Interestingly, The Upgrade only said that after I had tried (and failed) to install the trail of software from 4 to 5. But after completely searching and removing every last newtek files, then trying the VT5 Upgrade disk, it now is giving me a full install (in progress) I will let you know how it goes.

    Thanks!
    B.S.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82

    Still not working.

    After the full install of VT5 and a reboot, when I launch the program I get the first Msg:
    Launch Error!
    Your last NewTek VT[5] session did not exit cleanly, Do you wish to reset the configuration of all modules. You should close all other Toster modules before clicking "Yes" in this dialog!

    I click "Yes"

    Then I get this Msg:

    Driver Problem
    There has been problems communication with the NewTek VT[5] drivers. This might be caused by errors in a previous time that you ran the software, or a failure to communicate with the NewTek VT[5] hardware. Try rebooting your computer, and reseat the Toaster. You should also check that your NewTek VT[5] drivers

    I still get those messages after following the above many times.

    Any thoughts?
    B.S.

  6. #6

    win 7

    Download vt5.3 from your registration/download area at NewTek.com.
    Install
    this does not have the dve's. You will have to get from old discs or copy from old machine.
    the instalation will remove the dves on the tatget machine.
    If you have the old style vt card your windows 7 machine must have the 5 volt buss on the motherboard.
    you can tell if the machine powers up and lights the led on the vt card.
    The vt pro card should work on most motherboards with out the 5v buss.
    Yes the icon is from the coppermine in Salt Lake
    Pete
    Good luck it really works
    Last edited by Pete Draves; 07-26-2012 at 03:01 PM.
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82
    Pete,

    I will try that now. Thanks!

    I've been in that pit, I worked on the visitor video years ago.
    B.S.

  8. #8

    mine

    I was there 2 and a half weeks shooting a video for P&H on repairing the big shovel.
    that place is the pits. (joke)
    Pete
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82
    The vt5.3 download from my registration/download area is only an update for VT[5] and needed 5 installed in order to do the update.

    After re-installing 5 off my disks and running the downloaded 5.3 update I'm still getting the failure.

    I have the older VT-card and it is powered and the green light is showing.
    B.S.

  10. #10

    ???

    I will do some research tonight and in the morning and post the results.
    I am glad the lamp is lit.
    Pete
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  11. #11
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,617
    Is the Plug and Pray wizard popping up to install the driver when you boot? The VT card will show up as a 'multimedia' device in the device manager before the driver is installed. If it isn't in the device manager or is listed as unknown you probably have a hardware issue.

    You did plug the power connector in didn't you?
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, NC1 I/O, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, TS 100, TS 4000

  12. #12

    vt

    If you did what the "mug and prey" wizard asked, your best bet will be reinstall the os. I am not kidding here. The order of installation as far as the old man can remember is start with 5.2 then 5.2c and finally 5.3.

    Any other NewTek installations must be "uninstalled" using programs and features in the control panel.
    Then delete any directories left. I usually clean the registry files but that is best left to an expert.
    If you have too many problems you can fly me out and meet at the stairway to heaven. (joke)
    Best luck
    Pete
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82
    When VT was not installed for the first time the P&P came up stated that the no driver could be found for the Multimedia Controller, after I installed VT the driver was found and loaded by P&P. Now that I've uninstalled VT again, the device manager shows that Other Devices/Multimedia Controller does not have any driver.

    One thing that puzzles me is that after I seemingly wipe VT off the system, after I install VT again and run the program it notes that: "Your last NewTek VT[5] session did not exit cleanly" Somewhere it knows that I had previously ran VT[5]. Is there a location that I missed in wiping the newtek info?
    B.S.

  14. #14

    ????

    Ignore the message
    pete
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    82

    Driver Problems.

    Wiped my computer clean reinstalled windows 7 and updated everything, installed VT-5 off of disks and updated through Newtek's site. (Twice)

    Still gives me the same Driver problem messages.

    Is there a full VT-5 install that is the last version for Windows 7 and works on a 64 bit machine?

    Anyone?
    B.S.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •